Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Auntie Em’s New Orleans Red Beans

on August 7, 2012

20120807-124526.jpg

Here at Auntie Em’s house we eat a lot of what Mr X calls “farm food.” It’s his favorite, and since it’s easy to cook, it fits in my schedule and lifestyle. We went to Nachtitoches, Mississippi in December and I bought their local Service League cookbook- I love to buy local cookbooks as souvenirs when we travel!

Here is one of my favorites (and I measured this time!):

1 small pkg red kidney beans20120807-124619.jpg

1 tsp salt and pepper (add more, or Tony Chachere to taste after they cook.)

1/4 c chopped onion

1/4 c chopped celery

1 large carrot, diced

1 large clove garlic, minced

2 bay leaves

1 hunk of tasso (That’s frozen tasso there- it looks bad, but tastes good! It’s a heavily seasoned pork, for cooking. I usually don’t use it up fast enough to keep fresh, so I freeze it and take it out as I need it.)

4-6 c water or broth (If you don’t have broth, add a bouillon cube or 2!)

Put in a large, heavy pan and add water or broth about 3 times the depth of the beans. (If you have 2″ of beans, add 4″ of water above the beans- make sense?) Bring to a boli, stir, cover, and let soak an  hour. Check on it periodically because you might need to add water during the soak time! 20120807-124611.jpg

Then add water if needed, and simmer for 2-3 hours. Check often and add water. They should be tender. If you want to make it over the top, slice up some link sausage and stir in before you serve, or serve it with a link! Put it over rice or Granny’s Cornbread.

;

;

5 responses to “Auntie Em’s New Orleans Red Beans

  1. zentMRS says:

    Love these flavors – and this recipe looks so easy! Thanks for bringing this to Tuesday’s Table – hope you come back next week!

  2. Oh so heartwarming! Loving this one and just pinned it!
    Thank you so much for sharing this at Wednesday Extravaganza – Hope to see you there again this week :)

  3. […] and though I’m not quite willing to go that far, I am using a modified paleo diet. (I love my rice and beans and half-and-half in my coffee!) With my wheat allergy, their no-grain philosophy has given me […]

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

