Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Every Little Helps!

on August 11, 2012

“Every little helps,” said the old woman as she wet in the sea.

                                                                              My mother was raised by her grandmother, Lizzie Adkisson Forrest. This is one of the sayings she liked to quote! (And you’re right, I wondered too why she didn’t put “bit” in there!)

This is a great mantra for recovering perfectionists. I say it to myself and my friends over and over. Here are a few instances where my great-grandmother’s wisdom helped this week:

A friend and I were talking about how we loved Pinterest. I was admiring the wonderful elementary classroom ideas she had collected. She said disparagingly, “Now if I’d only USE them I’d be a good teacher!” But I  reminded her that even if she used just a few, she would be a better teacher than she was last year. Every little helps!

Blue Ribbon For First Place Royalty Free Stock Photo - Image: 10708795Along the same idea, my colleague and I have come up with a methodical system of skills and checklists to move our choir students from “zero to hero,”  so to speak. There are ribbons to be awarded, and videos to record… lots of bells and whistles. We’ve put the checklists and lots of the material we use for teaching all on a website, with the idea that the kids can practice at home. I don’t know how much that happens, and we’ve been hit-and-miss about ribbons, but I can tell you, we’ve brought our kids much further than we ever did without the whole system. Every little helps!

I am really realizing that I need to exercise! My mother had her first stroke and retired early at 54. I plan to live a long, healthy life, so I won’t have to move into Sis’s guesthouse, so it’s really hitting home. But I’d so much rather read or write! It’s so hot outside! My feet hurt! But I did bicycle for 21 minutes this week with TeeKay. It’s not great, but it’s something. Every little helps! 

And finally, for the job at hand. One of the projects I always put on my to-do list at the beginning of any period of time off, is to straighten every closet, drawer, and storage receptacle in my house. (A perfect goal for a perfectionist, no?) And I have one week more until I go back to work. So I think I’ll start today with my freezer, and when I’m done I’ll be one step closer. Every little helps!

How do you deal with big projects that weigh you down?

6 responses to “Every Little Helps!

  1. TeeKay says:

    So true, Auntie Em. Some is better than nothing (so I’ve heard) . Thanks for that reminder.

  2. Thanks for the reminder – small steps will get me closer to accomplishing what needs done instead of taking giant leaps that only weigh me down! Every little helps, I like that, it is as if we can all add our own “bit” to it. Blessings – Patty

  3. [...] James tells us to be doers of the Word, and not hearers only. I have to adapt that Scripture to myself. DO it! Don’t wait for the perfect plan or perfect time. If the window is dirty, take 5 minutes and clean it, even if you haven’t dusted and vacuumed, or picked up the rest of the house or even the room. Clean and straighten a single drawer or a shelf, even if it will take a week to get the closet done. Remember, every little helps. [...]

  4. [...] started a monthly reading link-up and I have finished ONE book so far this month! (Yay me! Every little helps, you know!) The reviews are styled after Twitter- short and informal, though she doesn’t hold [...]

  5. […] Vacation time is here and I, for one, usually come back 2 or 3 pounds heavier than when I left. Here are some realistic ways to get a bit of exercise in. After all, every little helps! […]

  6. […] know me, and know I believe in the “Every little helps” philosophy. So I’m not going to set forth a long list of strict rules for […]

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

