Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Auntie Em’s Grilled Pork Loin, AKA The Truth Will Set You Free *updated *

on August 12, 2012

Remember in Auntie Em’s Guide to Life, the number one rule was to BE HONEST? The truth will set you free. How in the world am I tying that into pork loin, you ask?

A MEAT THERMOMETER!                             

The truth is, a lot of my grilled meat used to be overcooked, dry, and tough. Once I accepted the truth that I couldn’t rely on my eyes to see if something was done, I became Queen of the Grill! Today we had grilled pork loin for lunch. The directions said cook for 35-40 minutes, and Mr X couldn’t wait that long, so I cut that 1.25 pound roast in half, seasoned it with salt, pepper, and Ranch dressing mix, and put it on the grill. (I had it on high and it had heated about 5 minutes.)

I checked it and turned after 10 minutes, checked the temp in another 10 minutes and it wasn’t quite ready, so I put it on an uncooked side and left it another 5 minutes. Once more, the truth set me free, when my sensibilities said, “No roast can cook in 25 minutes!” My meat thermometer said it was DONE, so I took it off, let it rest 5 minutes, and… the heavens parted and the angels sang. Behold the beauty. Amen.

For my friend Deb, who writes at Folksy Musin’s (Go over and see her post about back-to-school dressing for goddesses, then come back when you regain your composure!), step-by-step directions:

1. Turn your gas grill on high. (And if you have a charcoal grill, do whatever the prep equivalent is– get it ready to cook!) If you are really with it, spray with a non-stick spray.

2. Get your  boneless pork loin.

3. Cut in half if you just cant wait! It’ll cut the cooking time down.

4. Salt and pepper on all sides. I like the texture of kosher salt, but whatever you have is fine. This is also the time to add other dry seasonings, like Ranch dressing mix. Save marinades or sauces till it’s almost done, so they won’t burn.

5. Grill on high heat. (I realize that this probably varies depending on your grill. I have a large infrared gas grill.)

6. If you are not on intimate terms with your grill, start checking after 5 minutes. The grill marks should be evident, like the pics below, and it shouldn’t stick to the grill. It took mine 10 minutes per side.

7. Turn over and grill the other side the same amount of time. Check the temp, and if it’s not up to 145, turn to an edge. I don’t like to recook the cooked sides. I had to add about 5 minutes on one edge.

8. Let it rest about 4 minutes… see the pool of juicy goodness?

9. DIG IN!

 

                       

12 responses to “Auntie Em’s Grilled Pork Loin, AKA The Truth Will Set You Free *updated *

  1. Veda Ojeda says:

    I love my digital food thermometer. I do have one of the ‘fast read’ regular kind, also, but if I’m roasting meat in the oven (chicken is usually when I use it the most) I rely on my thermometer to tell me when the chicken is done. I also use it for elaborate breads (king cake or challah) to test for doneness, because there’s no heartache like a doughy middle of a braided bread.

  2. Karen says:

    I use a meat thermometer as well as a timer for double insurance.

  3. THANK YOU!!! I can’t wait to try this method.

  4. dltolley says:

    I’ve never used a meat thermometer. Hmmm . . . I guess I’ll have to try it, because I’ve said the exact same things that you did. This looks absolutely delicious. Can’t wait to try it! Thank you for sharing on NOBH!

  5. [...] a deep pan like mine: (see it over by the sink?) The breast was over 180 degrees (remember how I love my meat thermometer) and brown and beautiful, but the bottom parts weren’t cooked all the way. After it cooled [...]

  6. [...] 2. Auntie Em’s Grilled Pork Loin, AKA The Truth Will Set You Free [...]

  7. [...] the remaining oil over the top. Baked at 425 for about 30 minutes. As always, I tested it with my handy-dandy meat thermometer! While it wasn’t brown, it was done. You could also have braised it (cooked in a skillet [...]

Leave a Reply

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

