Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Isn’t it Romantic?

on August 22, 2012

“Isn’t it Romantic…?”  (Go ahead and click; it should open up a new window where Ella Fitzgerald will sing to you while you read!)

Jacqueline’s post over at Deep Roots at Home, about Famous Last Words had a quote from Sir Winston Churchill which surprised me, and it reminded me of a story about him that I love:

The question ‘If you could not be who you are, who would you like to be?’ was making the round of the dinner table; eventually it was Churchill’s turn, and everybody waited expectantly to hear what the great former wartime prime minister would say. ‘If I could not be who I am, I would most like to be . . .’ he paused for effect, then, turning to [his wife] Clementine: ‘Mrs Churchill’s second husband.’ (Keith Hunt, The Wit of Winston Churchill #7)

So I got to thinking about all the romantic lines I’ve read in history and poetry… here are just a few.

“Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.” Emily Bronte, who never married.

“Married couples who love each other tell each other a thousand things without speaking.” Chinese proverb

“God, the best maker of all marriages, Combine your hearts into one.” Shakespeare

“One word frees us of all the weight and pain in life. That word is love.” Sophocles

“There is no more lovely, friendly and charming relationship, communion or company than a good marriage.” Martin Luther

And I have to share my favorite poem, from Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s Sonnets from the Portugese:

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.

I love thee to the level of every day’s

Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.

I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;

I love thee with a passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints. I love thee with the breath,

Smiles, tears, of all my life! — and if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death.

Ahh. Thank God for your sweetie, and make a little romance. What does it look like at your house?

17 responses to “Isn’t it Romantic?

  1. Found you at To Love, Honor, and Vacuum. This just made my morning. I LOVE that quote by Martin Luther, and the EBB poem just made me smile and sigh happily! :)

    Romance, to me, is looking in my husband’s eyes and seeing that look that I know he gives no one but me…the look that says, “You are the most special person in the whole world to me.”

  2. Ms. Kathleen says:

    This is so sweet… I love this quote – “God, the best maker of all marriages, Combine your hearts into one.” Shakespeare – Perfect. God arranged my wonderful marriage 28 years ago and I am forever grateful.

  3. Pamela says:

    My husband quoted this to me 36 years ago at our wedding. It’s still special to us today! And I’m still counting the ways.

  4. As I was reading I kept singing to myself…”isn’t it romantic….” For Romance is snuggling on a Saturday morning, listening the birds outside or watching the rain or snow fall. It is also reaching out to touch the others hand while we are reading in the evening. After 32 yrs romance is still alive and well in our household.

  5. Auntie Em says:

    I found Paige’s romance post at The Nice Thing About Strangers– and it fit right in with our “romantic” comments! Visit her and enjoy!

    http://thenicethingaboutstrangers.com/2012/05/21/im-thinking-lovely/

  6. Beth says:

    I was pleasantly surprised by this post, Auntie Em. I don’t know, I’m a bit cynical about the whole idea of “romantic love”–at least the way Hollywood tries to portray it. But this I liked. :)

  7. Kelly says:

    I think I’ll copy Emily Post’s poem and use it on my next wedding anniversary. Thanks for sharing with us at No Ordinary Blog Hop. Every blessing, Kelly

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

