Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Dinnerplate Hibiscus- and a Ridiculously Excited Auntie Em

on August 28, 2012

I know you’re not supposed to play favorites, but I think of all the beautiful flowers in my garden, I love this dinnerplate hibicus best! A friend gave it to me when I was teaching her son, about 10 years ago; it had sprouted up beside hers. She told me that these are very persnickety about propagation and rarely make babies.

So last spring when I saw this little baby peeking up near the big bush, I held my breath and waited…

When it reached about a foot tall, I dug it up, potted it to grow a bigger root system, kept it over the winter, then gave it to Sis this spring for her garden. She kept me updated and we were so excited when it finally bloomed! Here it is:

And another unusual thing happened last summer- Since I will reuse potting soil if a plant “bites the dust” (HA- usually that’s exactly what happens; I don’t water enough and it dies of thirst!), sometimes random plants come up in newly-potted plants. I sometimes recognize what they are; sometimes I debate whether they are weeds or something desirable, and wait it out; and sometimes I have no idea! Last summer I had 2 babies which looked like hibiscus come up in a pot. I posted the picture to Facebook and asked friends what they thought it could be– hibiscus? Watermelon? I hadn’t planted any dinnerplate seeds in a long time… a few years back I had, but they never germinated.

What do you think?

I put them in separate pots and kept them alive all through our horrible drought last summer, then this spring planted them in the ground.

One died. But one thrived. I kept watching, holding my breath, and hoping it would be a dinnerplate… and finally… TADAAA! I was so excited you would have thought I’d have bred a Kentucky Derby winning horse!

Such is the life of a frugal gardener!

6 responses to “Dinnerplate Hibiscus- and a Ridiculously Excited Auntie Em

  1. kimahall says:

    I had never seen these until we moved into our current location. They are truly amazing, because they really are the size of dinner plates. Everyone who sees them is always shocked at the size of the blooms. Love how you have a wonderful green thumb. My strengths tend to lie in other areas, although I am trying to take better care of our plants…

  2. Deb says:

    Great flower story! I would have been just as excited. I love those hibiscus, too!

  3. Beth says:

    What beautiful hibisicus! Love the color! I have a white one and a red one but your pink…ooh la la! So nice that you were able to share, too.

Leave a Reply

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

