Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

A Texas State of Mind

on September 1, 2012

Texas is big. I mean, really big! It’s the second largest state in the United States, both geographically (behind Alaska) and in population (behind California). It’s about twice the size of Japan and Germany, and a bit bigger than France. It’s close to 900 miles from El Paso in the west to Orange in the east– less than El Paso to San Diego on the Pacific coast, or Orange to Jacksonville, Florida on the Atlantic coast. (Both are close to 750 miles.)

A Texas State of Mind

Auntie Em’s house is a bit north of  Beaumont, and 50 miles from the Louisiana border in Orange. We are near the Big Thicket National Preserve, which is a remarkable phenomenon– Wikipedia says it well:

Today the Big Thicket retains numerous species, and has been described as the “biological crossroads of North America” or the “American Ark”. The area contains over 100 species of trees and shrubs, but is dominated by Longleaf Pine (Pinus palustris), which reaches heights of over 30 metres (98 ft). The National Park Service lists more than one thousand species of flowering plants and fernsthat can also be found in the thicket, including 20 orchids and four types of carnivorous plants. Animal life includes 300 species of migratory and nesting birds, many endangered or threatened. The thicket is also home to numerousreptile species, including all four groups of North American venomous snakes and alligators.

But there are other distinct geographical areas in Texas- the Hill Country, with its beautiful wild flowers…

the Panhandle, right in Tornado Alley…

and the West…

Texas has a very colorful history- we have been Spanish, French, Mexican, Confederate, United States, and of course, our own independent country. (Hence the “Six Flags over Texas” theme parks)

We’ve got famous Texas shrines — The Alamo being probably the most well-known.

We have our own “national” heroes– Sam Houston is my personal favorite, but also Davy Crockett and  Jim Bowie, among MANY others…

(If you don’t know Sam, check him out! He was a Congressman from Tennessee, a Senator, Governor, and President of Texas, plus a whole lot more!)

We like lots of things in the unique shape of our state..

jewelry …….

food….. (When we stay at an out-of-state hotel, I’m always surprised to see a ROUND waffle maker!)

  

garden accessories…

Some really hard-core Texas lovers build pools and homes to honor Texas!

  

“Texas” comes from the earlier “native Texans” (We all claim that title!), whose word for “friend” gave us our name. I’ve heard that some non-Texans think that our Texas pride makes us obnoxious, but we’re too friendly to notice…

Texas bumperstickers say a lot about the Texas mindset:

      

and my favorite:

So if you’re not fortunate enough to live in Texas, come visit!  Practice saying Y’ALL, and you can be an honorary (or we sometimes say “ornery”) Texan!

Jewelry, dishes , waffles Quotes, history

6 responses to “A Texas State of Mind

  1. I just moved to OK, I’m not sure I should like Texas, but then it is a great state. Thank you for sharing this post at NOBH. Blessings!

    • Auntie Em says:

      It IS a great state! Did you leave Texas, or just get closer to us. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting!

      • Just moved closer. I’m loving the fall, now that it’s getting cooler. I’ve seen many more OU t-shirts and flags around. Football season has begun! (People really don’t like the longhorns around here. Wonder why?) lol

  2. Lisa says:

    Hello fellow Texan! I live near Fort Worth. Just for the past 4 years. Prior to that I lived in Aggieland…Bryan/College Station…for 26 years. I’m an Aggie and I liked it there so much I stayed :) Having grown up in a small town in NE TX…near Texarkana… I loved B/CS. I just found your blog by seeing your comment on Shelia Gregoire’s post today..and I saw you recently posted 10 minute meals…and that caught my eye. I can see a lot of encouragement in all your other posts too and look forward to reading them. I don’t blog…but maybe I will consider it. My favorites are the 4 blogs who are all working together on the Revivng your Marriage posts. I’m trying to keep up with those. I see you and I are the same age too. LOL. Small world. Thanks for the encouragement!

    • Auntie Em says:

      Thanks so much, Lisa! I love that team too, and so I resolved to join them- it’s been a good study for me! Now if you say you are from Atlanta or Queen City, that will really be funny… My father in law is from the area and we visit family there. My husband and I vacationed in Ft Worth a few years go- loved the Botanical Gardens!
      I’m so glad to have you join me!

      • Lisa says:

        Ok….drum roll….maybe we are related… LOL:) I am from Atlanta and one of my aunt/ uncle and cousins live in Queen City. Since most people haven’t heard of those towns I just said a small town near Texarkana. I lived there from birth till college. The rest I already mentioned. I bet we know some of the same people! You probably wouldn’t want to discuss that here but if you want you can email me. I guess you can see my email address though its not published on the post. As the song says “lt’s a small world after all”!!!

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

