Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Be Anxious for Nothing!

on September 11, 2012

Do you ever worry over something like a dog with an old bone? You chew on it, take it out and look at it a while, turn it over and over to examine it from all angles, talk about it to your friends, maybe make a Facebook post about it, MAYBE pray about it, then go right back to chewing? (Do I sound like the voice of experience? GUILTY.) I recently read on that great source of sound doctrine, Facebook, (My tongue is firmly in my cheek, but I have so many wise Christian friends that I do call it my Facebook Bible study!) that “Worry is saying that God can’t handle our problems.”

Philippians 4:4-8 is a great kitchen-wall Scripture… the challenge comes in living it!

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice! Let your gentle spirit be known to all men. The Lord is near. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (NASV)

The cure for worrying is right here in Philippians. Rejoice in the Lord. When? Always. You mean when there’s lots more month, and not much money? Yep. When my son is failing a class? Un-huh. When my daughter insists on dating a loser? You bet. When I’m sick? Then too. And the reason we rejoice is there too: The Lord is near. Remember, He said He would be with us ALWAYS, even till the ends of time. (Matthew 28:20)

And look a little further. God invites us to talk to Him about what is worrying us. Don’t worry about it, but talk to me (prayer), and tell Me what you’d like (supplication, requests). Thank Me. (Thank You Father for inviting me to talk to You, for wanting to talk to me, for being concerned about my problems. Thank You for what You will do in the situation and in me.)

What will happen? The peace of God will guard our hearts and minds. I love that! My mind needs guarding, because it can go crazy! You’ve done it too, haven’t you, when your child is out late and you hear a siren, or you get called back into the doctor and you have your funeral planned before you get there?

I want to throw in another thing about guarding our hearts and minds. Yes, God is all powerful, but we have brains that I believe we should use. Be careful, dearies, about what you allow in your heart and mind. Pay attention; examine yourself, and figure out what makes you anxious. Then get it out of your life if you can. It is silly to ask God to remove your anxiety while you are ingesting a steady diet that will worry you, just like scooting a book closer and closer to the edge of a table and asking God not to let it fall!

Our modern culture is a worry-maker, and I believe you have to actively fight NOT to allow it to. The very pace of it is exhausting… there’s always something to do, people to talk to, problems to hash and rehash… I’ve chosen to avoid any political show that is not informational– I don’t want to hear people argue, interrupt and talk over each other, with no real interest in having a meeting of the minds. I get the facts in simple lists, and I will vote, but I’m not going to spend a lot of energy listening to “hype.” I used to watch the Law and Order SVU all the time, but I realized that the depravity of the bad guys was just letting too much darkness into my life. One of my favorite book series was Tess Gerritsen’s Rizzoli and Isles, which was much darker than the TV series. With my tendency to depression, I finally decided that it was unwise to expose myself to that kind of literature.

So here’s your challenge, should you choose to accept it: Confess your worry. Tell God that you know He can handle it. Thank Him for His constant love for you and whoever you’re worrying about. Quit talking about it! Find some applicable Scriptures and write them on index cards, rewording them to fit your situation. Avoid anything that makes you feel worse.

So keep that poster on your Facebook wall, and the Scripture verse on your kitchen wall, but be sure and get the passage in your heart!

TeeKay from A Thimbleful of Wisdom, Juliana from simplyjuliana, and I are teaming up to do a series on Philippians every Wednesday in September. We started last week with “Work in Harmony“; and next week will be Whatever… But for today, it’s a favorite “kitchen wall Scripture”…

15 responses to “Be Anxious for Nothing!

  1. Worry adds nothing of value to our lives and can steal so much from us. Great advice to change habits that add to our worry. Give our concerns over to the Lord and leave them there, trusting HIm to work it out better than we could have imagined & for our ultimate best

    ” And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” – Romans 12:2 KJV

  2. Falen says:

    ““Worry is saying that God can’t handle our problems.” Sooo true. Harsh, but truth. There’s that saying, “Worry is like a rocking chair; it will give you somethign to do but get you nowhere.” Rejoicing does combat worry. Great post!

  3. [...] Be Anxious for Nothing! (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. I absolutely agree with guarding our hearts & minds. I, too, love SVU & other similar shows. Scary movies are my favorite although I’m rarely scared. I can turn it off & not think about those things afterward. I know many people that can not. I applaud you for realizing it within yourself and choosing to clear your mind!!! What a strong woman you are. Thanks for linking up with us this week!!!

  5. Jolene Engle says:

    Wonderful post, Em! (I used this title on a post last year when I was writing about not having a home to go to. : ) ) I don’t know why we freak out. Well, yes, I do. I, for one, am not in the Word enough and dwelling on Christ and I’m to concerned with myself! Worry is a sin and we bring dishonor to the Great I Am when we wallow in this path. It’s so easy to do but we need to be intentional about living by faith. Thanks for sharing this!

  6. dltolleyd says:

    Speaking as one who excels at worrying, this was a very timely and necessary post! You are so right! The Lord IS near. Be anxious for nothing. What peaceful, beautiful words. Thank you so much for sharing them! and for dropping by NOBH!

  7. I stopped watching ALL politcal shows. And the news, for the most part. Too much stress! I’m trying to spend more time praying and writing!

    • Auntie Em says:

      They are the worst! Politicians remind me of my jr. high boys- trying to keep anybody else from getting anything they don’t get themselves.. and in the process, nobody gets anything! I’m disgusted with the lot of them.

  8. Great reminder, Auntie Em. Phil. 4:4-8 is one of my all-time favorite passages — as I’m sure it is for many of us.

Leave a Reply

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

