Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Perfect Hamburger Patties

on September 18, 2012

Summertime is here– time for cookouts and grilled hamburgers– and I’ve updated my grilled hamburger patty post. Hope you enjoy and get a lot of mileage from it!

Perfect hamburger patties

Nothing beats homemade, grilled hamburgers– unless you don’t know how to make them! Auntie Em makes some slap-your-sister-good ones, and I’ll tell you how:

First- go start your grill. I always scrape the grates and spray them with Pam first.

To make the patties: Start with ground meat. Get at least 15% fat ground beef– too lean and it will be tough and chewy. And I like to add ground pork too.. Yum! Season like you like–I use salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, and Chipotle Tabasco sauce.

Mix it all up really well- the meat has different textures so you don’t want them to look separate. You’ll probably have to use your hands to do it well. Sorry!

Then begin shaping them into patties. They need to be uniform sizes and not too thick- about 1/2 to 3/4 inch. Rotate them between your palms, using your thumb to even up the edges. Don’t smash it down, though; you don’t want it tough.

As is my normal practice, I make more than I need for one meal and freeze the rest! Wrap patties with

parchment paper, then put into a Ziploc freezer bag.

I do my own vacuum-seal by closing the bag except for a little gap, then sucking out all the air myself! (Tightwad Food Saver!)

Ta-da! Now I can take out as many as I want and they won’t stick together.

I grill them 6-7 minutes. They should be a little brown around the edges, and getting gray on top.

Carefully lift to check the bottom for raw spots. None here!

So go ahead and flip them over, and cook about 1 minute less than you did the first side.

Hungry yet?

And there you are- perfect hamburger patties. Top it off like you like- cheese, grilled onions and mushrooms, lettuce, onions. pickles, mayo, mustard, good soft warmed buns….

15 responses to “Perfect Hamburger Patties

  1. LubbyGirl says:

    Slap-your-sister-good . . . I love it! I’ll have to add that to my repertoire of borrowed sayings. I dunno if my sister will like it though. :-)
    Hubby is the chief cook & bottle washer at our house, and he does his very much like this (I don’t even know how to turn the grill on. Yah, I know. Pitiful)

  2. Yummm!!! Thanks for all the great tips!!

  3. Will have to try…looks {and smells!} delicious! Our family are burger connoisseurs! Never thought to use ground pork in with the mixture.

  4. FringeGirl says:

    I love a good burger and these look yummy. Wouldn’t have thought to use the Tabasco sauce, but I’ll have to try it. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Yum, looks great! Thanks for sharing at The Fun In Functional!

  6. Judith says:

    These sound delicious with the pork mixed in and all those delicious spices. YUM!!

    Thanks so much for linking up over at WholeHearted Home this week.

  7. Kjersti says:

    Okay the parchment paper idea is so awesome! I am glad I have people like you to think of those things for me! :) Those burgers look delicious too…like a husband pleaser for sure!

  8. Visiting from Not Your Ordinary Blog Hop. The only thing I would change is to use some of our Thrive ingedients. Hubby is a grillin fool. Just got a new spatula expecially for his new grill taht does everything. You can even fry on that thing.

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

