Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Auntie Em’s Kickin’ Spaghetti Sauce

on September 27, 2012

Oh my goodness, can we make some good spaghetti sauce at Auntie Em’s house! I didn’t take pictures as I went, because I’m telling you, it is SO EASY!

I like to make a large batch so we can eat some now, and freeze the rest for later. As always, I estimate amounts, but I’ll tell you my “starting” place.

2 lbs lean ground meat (beef, chicken, turkey, pork.. whatever floats your boat. I figure the turkey made it a little healthier!)

1 large onion, chopped

1 pkg mushrooms, wiped clean (Don’t run water over them) and sliced into whatever size your family likes

4-5 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup black olives, sliced (I think Mr X might have used green olives this time, but I prefer black.)

4-8 oz sliced pepperoni or Canadian bacon, chopped

2 large cans tomato sauce

2 large cans chopped tomatoes

1 15-oz can tomato paste

Italian seasoning (or parsley, basil, oregano)

Salt and pepper

Preheat a large Dutch oven and add ground meat. Break apart (I use a potato masher) and brown. Drain if there’s a lot of fat; I like to use lean ground meat and usually don’t have any extra.  Add onions and garlic once it’s broken up. After they soften, add chopped mushrooms and olives. Then add the pepperoni, tomato products, and seasoning. Cover it and let it heat through. Then lower the heat, cover it,  and let it simmer. I don’t know if it gets better the longer it cooks, or it just smells up your house and builds your appetite, but I like to simmer it a long time!

This time I used vermicelli rather than regular spaghetti, and I liked it! It’s a bit wider and really hangs on to that sauce. I season my water with a bouillon cube or use broth, to give a little extra flavor to the noodles. Pay close attention to your time after you add the noodles; you don’t want to overcook them. Drain them quickly and add a little butter!

To serve, place the noodles on your plate, top with the sauce, and then add some fresh grated parmesan or mozzarella!

That’s amore! Enjoy!

8 responses to “Auntie Em’s Kickin’ Spaghetti Sauce

  1. FringeGirl says:

    Sounds good! I’ll have to try it.
    ~Fringegirl

  2. Almost sounds like me except for the olives and Canadian bacon…will try the next time I make homemade sauce – sounds delicious!

  3. Yummo!! This is a definite “try”! :)

  4. [...] Auntie Em’s Kickin’ Spaghetti Sauce (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

