Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Church Fiesta

on September 29, 2012

September 16 was Mexican Independence Day, and in the wonderful, creative way of our fellowship committee at my church, they planned a Fiesta covered-dish lunch! (We have an AWESOME group of ladies, and a few husbands too, that plan and execute luncheons and activities regularly.)

Now that I’m one of the … ahem… “older ladies” at church, I feel like I need to bring really big dishes, and multiple dishes. I don’t have kiddos I’m trying to get ready for church, and I can afford large quantities much more easily than I could when we had little ones at home, so I’m glad to do it. Many people enjoy making desserts, and we usually have lots, but sometimes run short on meats and veggies, so I’ve begun bring main dishes too.

I decided to make the Marriott Riverwalk’s Famous World Tortilla Soup.(If you are in downtown San Antonio, visit the Cactus Flower Restaurant in the Riverwalk, and enjoy the soup!)
It’s very simple, as you see… 20120929-143649.jpg

I collected the ingredients…

20120929-143909.jpg
Then, because I didn’t have as much chicken as I would have liked, I added a can of rinsed black beans, a few slices of chopped bacon (because it makes everything better!), and celery, because I love the flavor with chicken.

20120929-144047.jpg
I served it with Tostitos and grated cheddar cheese, and it was a big hit! Barely enough left for me to have some for lunch the next day.

I decided to make a Sopapilla Cheesecake too. I googled and found one online somewhere– I’m sorry, I don’t remember where! It called for 2 cans of Pillsbury RECIPE CREATION Crescent Rolls (These were new to me, so new that my store didn’t even have any), 16 oz cream cheese, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 stick of melted butter, 1 cup sugar, and 1-2 T cinnamon.

20120929-145238.jpg

Spread out 1 can of Crescent rolls in the bottom of a 9×13 pan. (Mash the seams together if you use regular rolls.)

20120929-145159.jpg.

Beat the cream cheese and vanilla; spread over dough.

20120929-145518.jpg

20120929-145628.jpg

Roll out the other can over the cream cheese, then pour the melted butter over the top evenly.
Mix the cinnamon and sugar together and sprinkle evenly over the top.

20120929-145637.jpg

Bake about half an hour, till brown and bubbly. I used a pizza roller to cut mine in small squares– they are rich! — and brought them on a plate. (That way I got to keep some at home for us!).

I’m not sure why I didn’t take any pictures of the finished products! You’ll have to trust me; they were really good– I hope you will make them soon, and celebrate a fiesta!

4 responses to “Church Fiesta

  1. Oh wow, looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing at The Fun In Functional!

  2. Kelly says:

    That looks good! I think churches and food go hand in hand, don’t you? Maybe that’s why so many of us blog about physical and spiritual food? Thanks for linking up with us at No Ordinary Blog Hop. Every blessing, Kelly

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

