Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Do You See Me?

on October 6, 2012

Kelly at Exceptionalistic featured a post from Crystal at Serving Joyfully that got me thinking about how often I’ve been working and working, and felt like nobody’s noticed or cared. Then I began thinking, “What’s the point?” Then discouragement reared its ugly head and I was tempted to just quit.

Dearies, that is just what the enemy wants us to think! If he can get us to stop what we’re doing because we’re discouraged– whether it’s providing a stable, creative home for our children, a loving place for our husbands to come home to, or a godly, supportive classroom for our “other” children– it’s as good as if we stop because we’ve become the most filthy, vile reprobate.

I remember hearing Marilyn Meburg speak about this at a Women of Faith conference . The little slave girl Hagar had been so mistreated by her mistress Sarai (of course Hagar wasn’t completely innocent in the relationship either!) that she finally ran away into the wilderness. God met her there (Genesis 16: 7-13):

The angel of the Lord found Hagar near a spring in the desert; … And he said, “Hagar, slave of Sarai, where have you come from, and where are you going?”… She gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” …

She was rejected by her mistress, whose idea the whole thing was in the first place; abandoned by her master, who had gone along with his wife’s bad idea, and was in a hopeless situation. But God knew the situation, and SAW HER. Sometimes, even more than a solution to our problems, we just need somebody to see us! We humans have an innate need for connection, and I think women in particular do. Some of us need affirmation more than others, and I know when my well is low because I’ve been giving and giving, I need it more than ever!

The building season of our marriage was the hardest. At a time when we both needed extra because we were stretched so thin, we were stretched too thin to give any extra! We had 3 children in 4 years, and Mr X started back to college when they were about 6, 3, and 2. He was working full time and going to classes 2 or 3 nights a week. I was a full-time stay-home mom, teaching piano 3 evenings a week. Those days were very long. Even though we knew the end result would be worth all the sacrifice, it was still a very difficult time. Then after a few years, as he approached the end of his degree, his classes were no longer offered at night, so I began teaching middle school full time and he worked part time, which added a different sort of stress – less money, a new job for me after having been home with children for 11 years, and growing kids of 5, 6, 9.

I dealt with exhaustion and recurrent sinus infections all the time. Mr X dealt with hard math classes, trying to make his work schedule around his school schedule, and probably the guilt of my having to work full time to provide for our family. Our relationship tools weren’t the greatest that early in our marriage. And again, if a marriage is neglected simply because it’s not the biggest fire to put out, it can die just as surely as if somebody’s had an affair.

What have I learned, in retrospect?

  • Be oh-so-choosy about what you allow in your life. Choose, very intentionally, how you spend your time. If you don’t keep a tight reign on your schedule, people will add things and it will get out of control before you know what hit you.
  • Keep the first things the first things. God. Husband. Children. Then jobs, hobbies, and everything else.
  • SEE the people in your life. Let them know you do. When you start the appreciation ball rolling, it’s much more likely to keep rolling and give you what you need.
  • Tell your fan club when you need a little extra love. You know you have one.

And finally, remember that your Heavenly Father sees you all the time.

  • Isaiah 43:1 … I have called you by name. You are mine.
  • John 10:14 … I am the good shepherd. I know my own.
  • Psalm 139: 1-5 … Lord, you have examined me and know me. you know everything I do; from far away you understand all my thoughts. You see me, whether I am working or resting; you know all my actions… You are all around me on every side; you protect me with your power… (there’s lots more that is really good; read this whole chapter!)
  • Psalm 91:14 … He knows my name.

Who do you see that needs a dose of encouragement?


14 responses to “Do You See Me?

  1. Kelly says:

    This is SO true! I love that you spun off of that post. It really got me thinking. I started blogging for me, not so much for anyone else. I just need to remember that! I had planned on delving into this further too. Loved reading this.

  2. I like your comment about telling my fan club when I need a little extra love. I’m gonna have to remember that. Thank you!

  3. This is very a interesting post. It’s so easy to get discouraged when we wash the same dishes over and over and cook and clean up the same messes day after day. They should tell newlyweds and wanna be parents more about the day to day grind as they start out. It won’t make them change their minds but we need to give them tools to deal with it so they can enjoy the good moments to make it all worth it.
    I would bet that boredom destroys as many marriages as anger and cheating, probably because boredom can lead to anger and and cheating… and it’s all downhill from there.
    Another stressful situation many couples hoist on their shoulders is the desire to have more for their children. Although that vacation may be exciting, is it worth it when you have to work so many extra hours to pay for it and is that degree really going to be that beneficial to your family if you have to miss your child’s concert or birthday parties because you are in class or doing papers? Maybe stretching it out over a few more semesters or doing stay-cations will make the memories happier and your families less stressed and detached. Kids will throw that expensive toy in the corner in a day or two and those fancy outfits will be in the bottom of the laundry hamper in a few days but the memories of the times spent together will last longer and mean more in years to come. Just my observations…

    • Auntie Em says:

      That is so true! I’m hoping that we … ahem…. older women… can teach these young ‘uns some things that will help!

  4. Sonia McKinney Stokes says:

    There’ a whole world right outside our door, at the supermarket, at the laundromat, at the women’s shelters, who need to hear that they have a fan club… you and Jesus, just for starters. Turn someone’s day around by giving them an unexpected hug. And remind them to look in the mirror and see what God sees… a princess… an heir to the throne.

  5. [...] Christian Mihai AuntieEm Reflections of God Armoured Up [...]

  6. me says:

    como me puedes ver siempre?

  7. Thank you, Auntie Em, for sharing this over at WholeHearted Home this past week.

    This spoke deeply to me:

    Dearies, that is just what the enemy wants us to think! If he can get us to stop what we’re doing because we’re discouraged–

  8. Wow – once again, I really needed to read that. Life tends to get away with me…I am very much a do-er….and tend to miss so much that happens around me. thank you for the reminder

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

