Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

The Luxury of Extended Time

on October 19, 2012

Courtesy totalreikimastery.com

Lately I’ve been having to do everything in short segments: Put the laundry in the washer, bring the groceries in and put up only the cold things; start the meat browning, unload the dishwasher, turn the meat, put up the rest of the groceries, switch the clothes, MAYBE check Facebook or my messages and stats, or write a few lines of a post. Certainly no time to read my favorite blogs. I have so many “drafts” going… I’m getting ideas, but no time to sit and let them germinate.

And the same routine happens at work. I used to think my memory was really, really bad, but honestly, I think there are just too many “open boxes” floating around, and I have to keep them all on the forefront. Trouble is there’s only one forefront! The other things get pushed further and further back, and are easily forgotten.

Add to that the Art of Marriage seminar that Mr X and I are facilitating at church this weekend– I also feel like God initiated that! But there has been a good bit of last minute things this week.

(I have to throw this in: Our kitchen faucet came off a few weeks ago– we reattached it to the hose with super glue. It worked fine! But last weekend it began to leak while it’s turned on, and make a mess.. but there’s no time to go pick out a new one or fix it this week, so we’re just letting it drip into the sink until we can think about it next week!)

It’s enough to drive a person crazy!

You know Auntie Em preaches “Don’t take on more than God plans for you,” and I have always felt like I am called to the classroom. This is just a very intense time for us– we didn’t start school till the last week of August, but our contest season, football games (which involves scheduling National Anthem singers and concession workers), Christmas season (which involves fitting formal dresses and tuxes for over 100 teenagers, scheduling concerts and buses); and fall fundraisers still have their old deadlines… It seems like there’s hardly time to catch your breath.

I guess I’m saying all this to say– Guard your time, and your schedule. Eliminate what you can, what you feel is not God-led. Remember your priorities: God, your spouse, your children, your church, then everything else. Sometimes we can’t see clearly where we are overcommitted– talk to your spouse, or your Board of Directors, for input and guidance in this area. Practice saying NO, and don’t let anybody make you feel guilty for not taking on another responsibility. If they say, “Well God expects you to …,”  reply, “God expects me to take care of my family.” Or, one nobody can argue about– “Let me discuss it with my husband, and pray about it.” If somebody wants an immediate answer, what do we say? All together now: NO!

Plan ahead for the natural ebb and flow of the seasons in your life, and be flexible enough to make adjustments– if your child has a crisis and needs some extra face time with you, maybe do sandwiches instead of the full-blown meal for supper. If you know a really busy week is in sight, try to put some meals in the freezer. Don’t take on any extra time commitments during known “crunch times.” (As fun as singing “Messiah” before Christmas with a church 40 miles away sounds, I can’t do it during this season of my life. I’ll do it after I retire.)

Dearies, the holiday season will be here before you know it. Don’t let your schedule run you. You run your schedule!

Teach me to number my days, that I may gain a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12

I’m “hopping” on over to Friendly Friday– check it out!

17 responses to “The Luxury of Extended Time

  1. eviejowilson says:

    Don’t give up, Auntie Em! It’s all worth it! Love your blog and I can really feel the stress in your post today. You are very gifted and have a lot of life experience to share that women need to hear.

  2. Pamela says:

    Lots of wisdom in this post. We’ve come face to face with this in our lives. My husband is working on his doctorate. Our mantra has been, “We’ll do it in three years.” I’ve gifted him with as free a schedule as I can. One thing we have made a tradition is a yearly Christmas presentation from another ministry. I’m sure since you are involved in music and programs you understand how much goes into the preparation. We were involved in every program the school and church presented. So we’d pick one thing from another church to attend. We’d sit and soak up the truth of the holiday.

  3. This is so very important! Thank you for sharing and for the encouragement! We’re neighbors at the Christian Mommy Blogger :) Blessings! simplyhelpinghim.com

  4. Chrystal says:

    I am so right there! On the overbooked side. And I THOUGHT I was being diligent about not doing that….

  5. Holly says:

    I’m glad it’d not just me who feels like she needs a 25 hour day!
    Dropping by from the GFC blog hop. :)

  6. Wonderful post! Hope you are having a blessed week-end!

  7. I absolutely love this piece & can relate. I was just talking to my husband about how there seems to never be enough time. And you hit it on the head, there are just “too many open boxes.” I am resolving myself to stop taking on too much, talk it over with “Marvelous” and praying on it to see where I’m led. Great post.

    • Auntie Em says:

      Me too! We just finished up a large project, a
      Though there will be some follow-up. I’m looking at my schedule with a magnifying lens to see what is earning its keep and what has to go for now. Thanks so much for your encouragement!

  8. What good advice!! I hope life settles down for you soon. Sometimes it is good to be too busy and other times you know too much has been added to your schedule.

    Thanks for linking this great post over at WholeHearted Home this past week. Hope to see you again tomorrow.

  9. Pamela says:

    I certainly need this advice. I believe this can happen if I would start planning now. Awesome words for me.

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 748 other followers

