Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Back to the Future– A Letter to My Mom

on October 31, 2012

Here’s your Hallowe’en treat! For my first official guest post, I asked my friend Kelly from Exceptionalistic! She has a sweet blog, with beautiful photography, giveaways, book reviews, recipes, crafts, and glimpses into her life. Jump on over and visit!

It’s an honor to post here at Auntie Em’s this week. Melinda is such a sweetheart. I’ve enjoyed getting to know her over the past few months. It’s as if we’ve been friends forever. It seems almost like we’ve always known each other. To be honest I love reading her blog and hearing her thoughts.

I decided to post today about relationships. Particularly the parent and child relationship. Now that I’m a mom I know what it’s like to be concerned and worry about my kids.

I was a good girl but I’m sure I make my parents worry a bit.

If I could go back to high school and have a conversation with my mom, I’d jump at the chance. I’d take her to dinner, buy her some flowers, and tell her:

You don’t need to worry about that older guy. He isn’t the one. We will fight back and forth a bit over the four year age difference. In the end it won’t matter. I won’t forget that you gave us a chance even though you were against it. It will show me you are ready (even if you aren’t) for me to become an adult and make my own decisions.

I’ll never forget the encouragement and support in my decision to start college while still in high school. It will allow me to spread my wings and gain independence. Even though it may seem as if I’m pulling away, I’m actually growing closer to you.

I’ll take you up on your college proposal and I’ll make you proud. I’ll succeed in college and even graduate early to save you some money. I’ll grow closer with you by staying at home and graduate without student loans. I’ll learn the value of my education and your generosity.

Your amazing parenting skills will teach me everything I need to know about how to be an adult, a wife, and a mother. So much so that we’ll become the best of friends. You’ll be the one I turn to for advice. You’ll be the one I turn to during some very difficult times. You’ll be my rock. I love you.

As I journey through the next few decades of parenthood I’ll think about the lessons I learned growing up. I’ll remember the empowerment my parents gave me. I’ll do my best to remember all of this again in another ten or so years when my little ones are teenagers!!

Is there anything you’d tell your parents if you could go back?

 

4 responses to “Back to the Future– A Letter to My Mom

  1. [...] guest posting over at Auntie Em’s Guide To Life today! I’m so excited to share with her readers but I also want to share with all of [...]

  2. Kelly says:

    Thanks for the opportunity! Excited to share with your readers.

  3. simplyhelpinghim says:

    I would definitely tell my parents how much them being strict and hard on me has made me a better mom, that even though I didn’t appreciate them then I do now! Thank you for sharing and linking up at Simply Helping Him last week! :) Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 748 other followers

