Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

21 Days to Something Better

on November 1, 2012

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace,
patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galations 5:22-23

Does anyone besides me get a jolt of surprise everytime you read this passage? Oh wait, I HAVE self-control? I pray to GET it, but God’s word says if I have the Holy Spirit, then I HAVE self-control. Joyce Meyer says when you become a Christian, you have the seeds of all those fruit– they just have to be cultivated. Self-control is one I need lots of tending!

My weakness is not that I DO things I should not; it’s that I DON’T do things I should. When I get home from work, I tend to hit the couch (or back porch chair, or bed) and park there till bedtime, reading or doing blog “work.” And Mr X is so low-maintenance, he doesn’t push me to do anything I don’t want to do– cereal or a PBJ sandwich or frozen pizza┬áis fine, and he’ll fix me some too if I want. With just the 2 of us here, the house and laundry don’t get overrun, so it’s easy to go a month without cleaning the house, or NEVER fold the towels and socks, just use them from the laundry basket. I’ve been saying I’m going to clean out every drawer and closet in my house for about 5 years now.

I saw Crystal’s 21-day Self-Discipline Challenge over at Serving Joyfully this morning, and had a little spark of an “I can do that” thought. So beginning today, November 1, I’m going to take TEN MINUTES a day and do something that needs doing. It might be folding towels or walking on the treadmill, or straightening a shelf in the pantry. But 10 minutes. I can do that.

Want to join me?

Self-discipline Challenge

12 responses to “21 Days to Something Better

  1. FringeGirl says:

    I look forward to read along for these 21 days.
    ~FringeGirl

  2. Yes! Definitely want to join you! I have three kids, (6, 4, 22 months) and one on the way, and it has become woefully apparent with our first year homeschooling that my lack of self control has contributed to a lack of self control in the children. I NEED to get this in line NOW! :) Otherwise, my children will lose out on one of the most important growing experiences of life, learning to exhibit self control, and hopefully, they too will seek the Holy Spirit’s strength in this area!

    • Auntie Em says:

      Well come on. I’ve done my 10 minutes! (I’ll post on my FB page.) and I found that once I get going, I will usually do a bit more. That first step is the hardest!

  3. Rejoycin says:

    Yes- Yes- I just so need this but I can’t decide what bad habit I want to overcome. Hum- exercise is the most neglected at this time and I am not overcoming the problem but rolling over my lack of discipline each day and feeling the emotional and see the physical effects. Yep- I will do it– now what?

    • Auntie Em says:

      My problem is I usually get stuck in the deciding what to do,, and have to formulate a complicated, grand exercise plan… (upcoming post called JUST DO IT!) Just do 10 minutes. Or- a new twist that evolved this afternoon- do 10 little things that you’ve been neglecting. (Please tell me I’m not the only one who can easily find 10…)

  4. Sunshine says:

    Since I decided to start staying at school late every day, I’m caught up on grading! Today was a little different (JV football game and I wasn’t going in a dress) so I have a few papers from today, but there’s nothing major hanging over my head. Can’t wait for your JUST DO IT post!

  5. Rejoycin says:

    I can easily find ten although I better keep to one and see if I can get past that! Friday I walk.

  6. Rejoycin says:

    I walked- I kept day 1 – Hoooray! ………………………..[ then I drove to Panera and ordered this mega Thanksgiving Day sandwich on focchoia bread follow by a mega brownie that could have fed 4!!!! ] BUT I WALKED!!!! Ah.

  7. [...] 21 Days to Something Better (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

