Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Second-Generation Meals

on November 7, 2012

beefy vegetable soup

(Are you hungry now?)

In my never-ending quest to make my life easier (and share with you, of course!), I’ve taken a hint from that Robin lady from Food Network, mixed it up with Once a Month Cooking, and come up with Second-Generation Meals.

What’s the idea? It just takes a bit of planning– First you cook something that you can eat as it is, but more than you need. Then you change it up a bit use it in something else. You can easily make it 3rd or 4th generation! It’s the same thing that restaurants do with their leftover food. They’re trying to save money; I’m desperate for TIME!

For instance: First meal: Grilled chicken. Then chop the chicken and have Grilled chicken salad one meal– Chicken soup another meal– then Chicken and pasta. Get the idea?

Earlier this week I fixed beef stew meat into beef tips. Served up over rice, it’s a perpetual favorite!

Get beef or pork stew meat, or make a mixture.

Dredge them in seasoned flour. (For you new cooks, that just means roll them around till they’re coated.) I like Tony Chachere’s, which is an all-purpose seasoning. If you put it on wax paper, it saves on dirty dishes!

seasoned flour flour coated stew meat

Then brown them over medium high heat in a bit of hot oil. Be sure to let it get REALLY HOT!  Flip them so they brown all over. Don’t be impatient, and don’t keep fooling with them. Let them brown 4 or 5 minutes then flip them and leave them another 4 or 5 minutes. All you are looking for here is brown on the outside; uncooked all the way through is okay because you’re going to cook them longer. Once they are brown, either take them out or scoot them to one side, add a tablespoon or 2 of flour and let that brown. You’re making gravy! Stir it around, add seasoning,and let it cook 3-4 minutes. Then add water and one of my favorite “tricks of the trade:” Lipton Soup mix #loveit! in whatever flavor you like.

making gravy Lipton soup mix You want to add enough water where the gravy is a bit thin, because you are going to cook it down an hour or so. Turn the heat down, cover it, and let it simmer. Notice I had a large quantity of meat, because I’m making 2 or 3 meals. You can add more soup mix if you want it a little thicker or more flavorful.

Behold the beauty! Serve it up over rice or mashed potatoes and you will be much appreciated at your house!! Beef tips

NOW FOR THE NEXT GENERATION

Cut up whatever stew veggies you like– I did carrots, celery, and potatoes, no onion because of the onion soup mix– boiled them in some water to which I added a soup bone for flavor– and cooked till tender, probably half an hour. Then I added the whole shebang to the beef tips. I added some corn that I had cooked earlier in the week, and a can of green beans, and YUMMO! Beefed-up vegetable soup! Add a pan of Granny’s cornbread and you are done!

This will freeze really well in either form– so start out with 3-4 pounds of meat and freeze half of each, and you are even more ahead! Enjoy– and tell me how it goes over at your house! beefy vegetable soup

22 responses to “Second-Generation Meals

  1. FringeGirl says:

    I like this idea. I try to cook in quantity so that I don’t have to cook every day…it’s not my favorite thing to do, cooking that is.

    This idea looks fabulous for winter. Nice, hearty meals. I think I will try it.
    ~FringeGirl

  2. Sherry says:

    Something I try to practise also. I like to do what I call once a month cooking. Only it really isn’t once a month. But I cook up lots of hamburger and have ready for tacos etc.
    Thanks for sharing this. You made my hungry!

  3. Rejoycin says:

    OK- I am hungry, I am going to make this if I can get off the computer! I am seeing double!!! Be blessed today- tomorrow- always!!! D

  4. Second generation meals is a great idea! My parents are really good at that; whatever they have leftover from the night before gets chopped up and put in their salads for lunch the next day. :-) Thanks for sharing at The Fun In Functional!

  5. courtshipconnection says:

    Those meals sound delicious, and I love the idea of saving the time by making enough to use or several meals! Thanks for linking up with us at Courtship Connection!

  6. Becca says:

    That looks hearty and good for a cool day! Thanks for sharing at A Humble Bumble :)

  7. marty says:

    I love having left overs but it is rare in my house…with a family of seven I’m just usually very happy to have made enough of everything :-) Your stew sounds delicious though so left overs or no I think I’ll give it a try.

    • Auntie Em says:

      Good; you’ll love it, and with a family of 7, it’s a quick and easy one! Make twice as much and freeze the rest. (Although I just end up eating it till it’s gone– I don’t get tired of it!) Thanks so much for visiting, Marty!

  8. Yummy! This looks delicious! What a great second-generation meal!

    Thank you for linking up at this week’s Harvest of Friends Weekend Blog Hop!

  9. This looks so delicious and comforting!
    Thank you so much for sharing this at Wednesday Extravaganza! Hope to see you there again this week :)

  10. Kelly says:

    I just love the idea of cooking once, eating twice. Well done and your recipe sounds great! Thanks for linking up with us at No Ordinary Blog Hop. Every blessing, Kelly

  11. Natasha says:

    what a fab idea!
    Thanks for sharing on Serenity Saturday! Can’t wait to see what you have to share tomorrow

  12. Sunshine says:

    Mom asked me to comment here and share what I did with you guys- about a month ago, I bought a chicken from one of my students (who had raised it for the fair and it didn’t sell there- a HUGE, no-chemicals chicken for $10, and helping my student go to college!) and boiled it, then picked the meat off the bones. I made gumbo with it, and froze about a quart-sized bag of shredded chicken. Then the other night, I made chicken breasts (from a different package!) and veggies- I had leftover veggies. So the next night, I took Cameron’s chicken from the freezer, plus the veggies, added some chicken broth, noodles, and black beans, and made soup!

  13. [...] more than you need. When you are putting some in the freezer for next time, or using extra for second-generation meals, just make a bit more for another meal. Freeze it, and before long, a family you know will have a [...]

  14. [...] crescent rolls is a great way to turn leftovers into a Second-Generation meal instead. Drain some juice and wrap up your meat and veggies and turn your soup into meat pies. [...]

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

