Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust

on November 17, 2012

BIG NEWS!

Auntie Em figured the only way to teach someone to “cut in flour” or “roll out a pie crust” is to SHOW THEM. So, Dearies, here is Auntie Em’s video debut. I was brave; it was kind of weird… Be brave and try the pie crust! And leave me a comment here or on my Facebook page, telling me how it turned out.

Homemade pie crust gets a bad rap for being difficult, but really, it’s not. And it’s one of those things that really impresses people; they think you are Martha Stewart or something! (And I don’t mind something that gets a lot of bang for the buck LOL!)

I start from “Nanny’s Good and Easy Pastry” from my Cotton Country Collection, published by the Junior League of Monroe, Louisiana. My mother had a copy and gave me mine for Christmas right after our first anniversary. (in 1981!)

Here’s the recipe.

Measurements in (parentheses) are for a double crust. Italics are my commentary.

1 (1 1/2 c) cup sifted flour (You know I don’t sift it!)

1/4 heaping tsp (1/2 heaping tsp) salt

1 pinch of sugar (big pinch), a must for a good pastry crust (I think this is so funny!)

1/3 c (1/2 c) shortening

3 T (4-5 T) cold water

This just never made enough, so like I said, I start here. I usually don’t measure, but I would use at least the double measurements for a single crust. I like it to hang off the edges of the pie plate to the counter, so I can trim it and evenly turn it under. Plus have leftovers for a cinnamon roll!

What to do:

Stir or sift together the flour, sugar, and salt. Cut in shortening. Sprinkle in ice water and stir till it sticks together. Add water if necessary. Roll out on floured wax paper and shape into pie plate. For a precooked crust, bake at 400 for about 15 minutes. If you are cooking a pie, like pecan or pumpkin, you can “seal” the pie crust by diluting an egg white with a tablespoon of water, brush over the crust, and bake at 400 for about 5 minutes. This will prevent the liquid from soaking into the crust, which causes it to stick to the pan and tear up when you’re serving it. If you are cooking the crust, for a custard or other pre-cooked pie, poke holes with a fork into the bottom and sides of the uncooked crust, and weight it down with some dried beans. This prevents the crust from bubbling up, and keeps it flat.

Auntie Em shows how to cut in flour.

Auntie Em shows how to add water and roll out the crust. (For some reason I kept calling my wax paper “Paper towels.” I meant “wax paper.”)

Here’s what the crust looks like before it’s cooked.

homemade pie crust

Here’s after it’s cooked. Notice it’s not real brown.

homemade pie crust cooked

And here’s the pie I made– Grandma Ballard’s Caramel Pie!

meringe pie

Auntie Em's holiday cooking Collage

19 responses to “Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust

  1. FringeGirl says:

    Oh, my. This is THE BEST tutorial I’ve ever seen. I think maybe even I can make a pie crust now. Actually I’m not super sure. You have no idea how many pies I’ve messed up.

    I can’t wait to share this!
    ~FringeGirl

  2. LubbyGirl says:

    Beats my “Easy As Pie” directions! :-) I learned something here (btw…don’t let that “Easy As Pie” post fool you…I really CAN make pie crust) – I never knew the trick of putting beans on the crust to keep it flat. I’ll have to try that next time I make a pie for hubby. And I loved your video – you look more like a niece than an Auntie to me though. :-)

  3. [...] with a baked pie shell. (Video instructions for a homemade one are here. It’s not as hard as you [...]

  4. [...] Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

  5. Awesome tutorial, thanks so much for sharing it at The Fun In Functional!

  6. Judith says:

    This is great!! I have made pies for years but not having made them with my mother, it is only a guess to know how to actually do it so the crust turns out perfect and flakey.

    Thanks for linking up over at WholeHearted Home Wednesdays this week. This post was a real blessing!!

    • Auntie Em says:

      Thanks– that’s what I thought when I decided to do a video tutorial– strange directions like “cut shortening into flour” would make no sense if you haven’t SEEN it– hopefully we’ll get a new generation of bakers going!

  7. simplyhelpinghim says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I had no idea that you were in Texas?! (or I forgot :/ ) I miss home! :( Wtg making your first VLOG ;) I’m thinking of that for the new year :) Thanks for linking this home at Simply Helping Him! Blessings!

  8. Kelly says:

    Clear and precise instructional video. I learned from Martha Stewart’s pate brise video and it always helps to see it done, I say. Thanks for linking up with us at No Ordinary Blog Hop. Every blessing, Kelly

  9. [...] Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

  10. Rosilind says:

    Wonderful tutorial! Homemade pie crusts are the BEST. Way better than store-bought ones. Thank you for linking it up!

  11. [...] Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

  12. [...] Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

  13. [...] Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust (VIDEO TUTORIAL)  Auntie Em’s Grandma Ballard’s Caramel Pie [...]

  14. [...] Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

  15. […] An Explosive Combination Auntie Em’s Homemade Pie Crust » Nov […]

Leave a Reply

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

