Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Auntie Em’s Really Complicated Recipe for Fruit Salad

on November 23, 2012

GOTCHA! This is actually the easiest one you’ll find, but it’s my favorite!

Start with cans (or home canned if you have them) of pineapple (chunked or crushed), peaches, pears, and mandarin oranges, a jar of maraschino cherries, and an apple. I like to use fruit in juice only (except the cherries!), but you can use whatever kind you like.

Open and drain all the cans. Cut the peaches and pears into bite-sized pieces. I sometimes do this in the strainer while they are draining, or right in the can. slicing peaches slicing pearsDump them in a large bowl. fruit salad

Spoon some cherries in. Add some more! If your kids are like mine were, they fight over the cherries.  For heaven’s sake, don’t drain THIS juice! You can actually pour a little in the salad, to give it a pink rosy color and extra sweet taste. fruit salad more cherries

Wash, then chop the apple. I like to leave the peel for a bit more color. Here’s how I do it. Quarter the apple.

apple quartered

Turn the quarter at an angle and cut off the core. cut core from apple

Slice each quarter lengthwise into 3 pieces. Cut these slices crossways into 4 pieces, for a total of 12 bites per quarter.

chopped apple

Then dump the apple in.

Stir it all up! If you have a while for it to marinate, put it in a ziplock bag, and turn it occasionally so the juices will soak up. Serve it in a pretty bowl.

fruit salad

You can add chopped pecans, Cool Whip (I usually use real whipped cream but somehow that doesn’t seem good for this), coconut, a honey-lime dressing, or anything else extra that sounds good to you– or leave it just like this!

Auntie Em's holiday cooking Collage

9 responses to “Auntie Em’s Really Complicated Recipe for Fruit Salad

  1. This is like my recipe except I never tried it with the cool whip..I will have to try the next time I make it. Also I would love the coconut but family doesn’t care for it, so will have to also make me a separate batch. Patty

  2. Jen Miller says:

    This looks absolutely delicious! New follower via the Sasse Life! Hope you’ll stop by and return the favor :)
    lifewithasideoflove.blogspot.com

  3. Becca says:

    Yummy! This looks/sounds so delicious. I love fruit.

  4. Rosilind says:

    Oh my goodness…I think I’ll make this next week!! My kids would love it (and the fruit would be good for them, too). Thank you for linking up!

  5. [...] Auntie Em’s Holiday Green Beans                         Auntie Em’s Really Complicated Fruit Salad [...]

  6. […] “Complicated” Fruit Salad (It’s really effortless!) […]

Leave a Reply

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

