Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Ah, November…

on December 2, 2012

If you’ve read Sunshine’s “substitute” post, or my Facebook page, you know we had a little too much excitement last weekend– my husband, Mr X, was in a serious motorcycle accident while riding with a friend. He’s going to be okay; he spent 3 days in the hospital and has a broken nose and 3 broken ribs. He also had a small pneumothorax (air between the lungs and lining that can lead to a collapsed lung; fortunately his dissipated before we left the hospital) and internal bleeding leading to a large hematoma inside his pelvis. It quit bleeding and will eventually absorb. In the meantime, he’s stiff and sore, and moving slowly, but thank God, he’s moving! His friend was also injured but able to walk– stiffly– away.

I went back to work Thursday and Friday, and haven’t had a minute to write anything, or any spare brain cells that are really working that well– so I decided to do a month-end statistics report. As non-mathematical as I am, somehow I love studying statistics!

Top 5 Posts for November

lazy housekeeping                                             Cornbread dressing

1. Auntie Em’s Guide to Lazy Girl Housekeeping      2. Auntie Em’s Cornbread Dressing

Give me a man                         stormy sea

3. Give Me a Man                                                      4.    Stormy Weather?

5. He Wasn’t Always My BFF

Top 5 posts since the beginning (August 31, 2012)

1. He Wasn’t Always My BFF

                            

2. Actually, It’s NOT All About You         3.  Three Little Changes

4. Be Anxious for Nothing

5. Auntie Em’s Guide to Lazy Girl Housekeeping

The most shared posts since the beginning

1. Actually, It’s NOT All About You

2. Auntie Em’s Grilled Pork Loin, AKA The Truth Will Set You Free

           

3. Granny’s Cornbread                             4.  A First-World Problem

5. Thank You, Dave Ramsey

Check out some of these posts if you haven’t yet, and hopefully this week I will get some new words down. In the meantime, I appreciate all your prayers, and please keep them up! As I said on my Facebook page, the fellowship of believers (All over the world!!) is a sweet and powerful thing!

13 responses to “Ah, November…

  1. Wow! So glad he’s gonna be ok! My husband rides too. :) Linda <3

    • Auntie Em says:

      Thanks Linda! I hope he wears protective gear– Looking at how the helmet and jacket were torn up, I know if he hadn’t been wearing them, our story would have a much different ending.

      • Oh my, yes he wears a helmet. I do too when I ride with him. We don’t have to here in Pa. but we do. By the way, I sent you a message via facebook. Whenever you get sometime…thanks! Love your blog/!

  2. My husband has ridden since he was 16, and I started riding along as a passenger when we met over 30 years ago. We all know the risks, but drive with as much care and awareness as we can, as well as plenty of prayer. So glad your hubbie and his friend are ok. Leather and helmets are a biker’s best friend!

    • Auntie Em says:

      He says it’s the best hobby he’s ever had, and he’s loved every minute until the wreck– he’s selling the bike now, though– that’s a good thing for me. It’s lost all its appeal! I am more aware than ever, though, of the need for prayer for all the bikers I see!

  3. Phew! Praise God He is going to be fine. Sorry you and him had to go through this. Visiting from MM party,have a super blessed week!

  4. Lori says:

    Glad your Mr. X is going strong – hope the recovery period is quick!

  5. Been praying and thankful all of our prayers were answered in this way – how scary. Blessings – Patty

  6. Wow! I’m so thankful that Mr. X will be able to ride another day! I’m sure you were both pretty shaken and you’re probably holding onto to him a little tighter right now.
    Thanks for listing your posts…I’m off to check them out!
    Thanks for stopping by WtoW!
    Blessing to you!

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 748 other followers

