Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

A Sweet and Powerful Thing

on January 14, 2013

Back at the end of November, after Mr X had his wreck and I asked for prayers, I posted on my Auntie Em Facebook page, “Thank you so much for prayers from ALL OVER THE U.S. AND THE WORLD!! The fellowship of Believers is a sweet and powerful thing!” The more I thought about that phrase, the more I realized that it is so very true! In this situation alone we have seen it. I have readers from many countries, some who leave comments regularly telling me they are praying, and I’m sure for every one who leaves a comment there are dozens who don’t but still pray. I fully believe Mr X’s deliverance from very serious injury (even death) and quick recovery were due to the prayers of brother and sister Believers.

The past couple of months have been hard for me. After the accident (November 24) I missed 3 days of school the week before our Christmas concert (December 6), and an important audition for my kids. Our Middle school concert was December 4, and I began to get sick December 5. The normal progression is scratchy throat, throat-on-fire, laryngitis, blown up sinuses and bronchitis. It stayed true to form! I was praying that laryngitis would hold off till after the high school concert since I was singing Soprano 1 in an ensemble with my Area choir qualifiers. (Thank You Jesus; it did.) There were five more performance events the following week, and the sinus infection just kept its claws in me.

I eventually went to the doctor and began a 10-day course of antibiotics and Prednisone, followed by another round of different antibiotic. I’m actually still coughing and am not sure I’m entirely well! I didn’t decorate for Christmas beyond the few large things I could get from my Christmas closet without digging, and a tabletop fiber optic tree. (Sunshine calls it my white-trash tree!) I didn’t send Christmas cards. I didn’t finish my shopping and we ended up giving our kids money hidden inside giveaway flashlights. I didn’t cook for our get together–Sis brought gumbo leftover from her Christmas party.

The holidays were wonderful– we had planned a short trip, but neither of us was up to it, so we stayed home and rested, which is just perfect for me. They were over way too fast! And now we’ve had rain, rain, and more rain, and I am fighting off the blues, holding my breath and praying that it is not my old companion, wintertime depression knocking at my door.

I’m telling you all this not to complain and wallow in self-pity, but to be honest and share my heart with you, so that when I tell you about how the fellowship of Believers has uplifted us, you will have a context for understanding.

The day of the accident, my in-laws drove me to Lufkin, where Mr X was in the ER, about a 2-hour drive. We found out later that people stopped immediately to help. Somebody called 911 when they saw the wreck; one lady was a nurse who told Mr X he needed to be still because he was hurt, and another lady knelt down and prayed with him. His riding buddy who was also injured but was checked and released, and his wife came and prayed with us before they went home.  Our daughters and their husbands dropped everything to drive to our house, pack my suitcase, pick me up from Lufkin, and get me to Houston to the hospital where they transferred him.

As soon as I heard and was waiting to leave for Lufkin, I texted a few friends to pray, as I didn’t know the extent of his injuries, and they prayed. As word spread, so did the circle of prayers. (When he was released from the hospital and went to follow up with his doctor, he saw the PA, whom he had not seen before, and he said something about Sunshine– a light came on in the PA’s face and she said, “We prayed for you Saturday!” Turns out she has known Sunshine for years through the Emmaus/Chrysalis community, but she knows her married name, so this prayer had just been offered up for “Sunshine’s dad.”)

Our coworkers picked up whatever needed doing and said, “Don’t even think about work. We’ll take care of it.” And we didn’t, because they truly meant what they said, and took care of everything. My sweet (band director) supervisor offered to go to our choir auditions and do whatever he could, and my middle school director took over my classes and my spot in the auditions. Another coworker gave us firewood since Mr X couldn’t cut and split wood this year. Friends let us borrow medical equipment that we needed till his mobility was restored.

A high school friend of Mr X’s works in Houston and came by the hospital and prayed with us. When we got home, many friends brought food and sent cards. Our church prayed. Our children and their friends prayed. Our friends and their churches prayed. Our coworkers prayed. My Facebook friends, and Auntie Em’s friends and their churches prayed. I was so humbled and thankful.

The amazing thing about the fellowship of Believers is that we don’t have to know one another at all to have care and concern– because of our relationship to our Father, we have an automatic brotherhood and sisterhood. We don’t have to know the details of the need, or even the names of the people because God knows all that. All we have to do is come before Him and lift our needs and those that we know about.

2 Corinthians 12:9 says, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” I have a new understanding of this one– although His power is shown through us when we are weak, His power is also seen through others when they minister to us in our weakness.

Thank you for your prayers.

26 responses to “A Sweet and Powerful Thing

  1. amen! thank you, Lord!

  2. Praise God for people who will come alongside us and help.

    Prayers for you. Winter can be long and dreary. I know. I’m working at keeping my own spirit up. Hang in there. Spring is coming!
    ~FringeGirl

  3. What a beautiful testimony to how God works – praying you both continue to feel warmed by His grace, and carry on getting better.

  4. Becca says:

    I pray you continue to put your trust in Him. He will carry you through!

  5. Rejoycin says:

    You’re such a sweet person, isn’t it such a great thing to see His Love all around!! It sounds like a great Christmas! I get the winter depression holding breathe thing- unfortunately. We are going to glide right through because it certainly is NOT a friend!! LOL! Just look forward to summer and — Ah bathing suits— never mind!

  6. I am always amazed how God ministers to us through His people.

  7. oysterbed7 says:

    I get goosebumps whenever I hear about the Lord’s Spirit working through and with His people. You’ve been through the mill, Em. I’m sorry I didn’t know until now about all that was going on, esp. for your husband. I will pray that he continues to full recovery. AND, I will pray that SADD stays at bay for you.

  8. Heather says:

    I love how you mention God knows the details! Our family is under a burden that feels too difficult to carry. The circumstance with our son are such that we can’t share the details- yet we need prayers! This post has inspired me to share our need for prayer with all our friends and prayer circles. Your right. Prayer is powerful.

    • Auntie Em says:

      Oh Heather, I’m so glad my post helped! We had a long challenging season with our son, and he came through it– we all did. I’m sure you will too. I will add my prayers to your family’s. thank you so much for sharing with me!

  9. This is terrific! I’m so glad you guys are on the mend. We were sick in December too. I am amazed at people, when they see a need, someone will step forward and fill it…through prayer, giving of their talents, time or through gifts.

  10. wholeheartedhome says:

    I don’t think I knew you when your husband’s accident happened but this is a wonderful testimony of God’s unfailing love and care for us. I know what you mean by the wintertime blues not because I get blue in the wintertime….I never know when I will ‘go down’. Why do you think I am focusing on Joy this year through learning to be thankful?! I will pray for you and your husband and hope you have a great week. Pray for me too as there are some big things in my life that need prayer. Yes, we as believers can lift each other up though we don’t really know each other. Thanks so so much.

    Did I thank you for linking up with me over at WholeHearted Home this week?? I think not. Thank you, Auntie Em…as you surely are a blessing each week!!

    • Auntie Em says:

      You are such a sweet blessing, Judith! Thank you for the prayers and the weekly linkup and encouragement. Lets agree to pray for one another, to help ward off those blues!

  11. Beautiful testimony. You have such a sweet heart and I know without a doubt you’d do the same for any one of us. Having been through a near-devastating motorcycle accident with my brother brings me so much closer to you. Know that I do understand what have gone through. The amazing news? Both of them are walking, talking, and breathing because of His will and His amazing prayer warriors. Love and hugs to you my dear friend!!

  12. [...] my recent difficult season I asked God to give me something when He needed me to write, and He did yesterday at church through [...]

  13. […] Check out some of these posts if you haven’t yet, and hopefully this week I will get some new words down. In the meantime, I appreciate all your prayers, and please keep them up! As I said on my Facebook page, the fellowship of believers (All over the world!!) is a sweet and powerful thing! […]

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 748 other followers

