Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Home Organization– Keepin’ It Real

on January 30, 2013

Surely you don’t EVER start to think that Auntie Em has it all together, do you? Because you would be sadly mistaken. I think you know the truth, but love me anyway. That is what I have discovered about my little corner of the blogosphere: Bloggers and blog readers — at least the ones that run in my circle — are the kindest, most gracious people anywhere. They cheer you on when you need it; encourage you when you are down; and laugh at your corny jokes.

THANK YOU! You are appreciated!

Over the Christmas holidays, between motorcycle accident (Mr X) and upper respiratory infection (me) recovery, I managed to do my normal bit of beginning to organize the house. It’s been a dream for about 15 years, to lay my hands on everything in the house and make sure it’s up-t0-date and where it should be. (We have lived in this house 15 1/2 years.) I’ve never finished, but I’ve done parts. This time I did my closet, my bathroom cabinets, the refrigerator, and the pantry.

A friend of a friend organized a community garage sale to raise money to send to the Sandy Hook families, so I took some things there. Mr X’s co- worker was holding a blanket drive so we sent a couple that we had replaced there. A church members works for a community charity that aids needy families, especially when their homes burn, and I sent my dishes that we replaced with her. I had a zillion hotel shampoos and lotions that I sent to a friend who works with the Christian Women’s Job Corps.

What I was happy to find lurking in the depths: 1 bottle of Lancôme eye makeup remover; 1 queen-sized thermal blanket; 1 bottle of Zyrtec. I put these to good use.

Several friends brought food for us when we got back from the hospital, so I was forced to clean out the refrigerator. I have always used a turntable but got another one, even before the latest Pinterest pin began circulating!

20130129-155341.jpg

What I was embarrassed to find in the refrigerator:

Sour cream … May 14, 2012

20130129-155331.jpg

Beef broth… September 22, 2011

20130129-155321.jpg

UGH. Cottage cheese… May 12, 2011

20130129-155310.jpg

Feeling better about your life now??


19 responses to “Home Organization– Keepin’ It Real

  1. LubbyGirl says:

    “Feeling better about your life now??”
    much … at least I was … before finding 2010 and 2011 stuff in MY fridge. So THAT’S what’s been lurking in the shadows of that bottom shelf – science experiments!! :-)

  2. Love it!!!! hahaha!!! Oh – I think we all have stories like this….but I love it when someone shares theirs, it makes me feel better about the stuff lurking in the back of my fridge. :) Have a great weekend!

  3. Oh how funny! We do keep our food ate up pretty well. But on occasion I have to throw out produce :( In the drawers I forget about it. But I remember growing up, we would find food in the fridge that we didn’t know what it was anymore. YUCK!

  4. Bobbie says:

    Im sorry but I have to admit… It makes me feel a little better….

  5. LOL – It looks like you were in my fridge! :) This weekend I also did a good cleaning of my fridge – and we made the garbage man a little bit richer between that and getting rid of the things we broke while moving things around!!

  6. Much better! I confess I just threw out some advil that had expired in 2007. Eeek. And cottage cheese? I always throw most of it out.

  7. EvieJo says:

    Love the turntable idea…

  8. Kristi says:

    Wow, I need to clean out my fridge too now that I think about it! Thanks for the inspiration!

  9. [...] keeping with my “Enough” and “Keepin’ it Real” posts, I’ve bought a little less than usual, making a point to look in my pantry, [...]

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

