Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Auntie Em’s Garden-Fresh Broccoli

on February 5, 2013

Springtime is very near here in Southeast Texas!

Camellias,

DSC_0339

tulip trees,

DSC_0353

and narcissus are blooming,

DSC_0326

and hyacinths and even a few brave azaleas are peeking out.

Last spring I planted a few broccoli plants and was amazed at how prolific they were! I didn’t think broccoli would thrive in our hot weather. I did give out by June but had made tons before that. So this year, I got a dozen plants and we have had an abundance! I used it to make my broccoli salad at Thanksgiving and Christmas, but for you veggie purists, this week I made it plain. May I just say how much better broccoli is when it’s fresh from the garden?

Cut your broccoli when the buds are tight. I let some of these go too far– there were even a couple of flowers! If more flowerets are forming, be sure to leave them there. 20130205-063716.jpg

There will be one large head– I’ve already cut this one– then the plant will continue to produce side shoots,

20130205-063709.jpg

unless you let it go to seed. I let this one go too long so decided to sacrifice it for next year’s seed. Notice there are no side shoots because the energy is being used in seed production.

20130205-063635.jpg

Wash it good. I haven’t used pesticides but we do have animals that run loose in our neighborhood!

20130205-063747.jpg

Chop it as much as you like. I like fairly big chunks, so I cut the florets off but don’t chop them.

20130205-063726.jpg

When you cut the broccoli when it’s young, the stems are plenty tender. I used all of this.

20130205-063738.jpg

I put it in a small glass bowl, added about a tablespoon of water, and covered. Microwave 1 minute and stir. Depending on the amount, you might need to cook another minute. Then, go ahead and add a tablespoon of butter! MMM…. delicious…. and so good for you!

20130205-063628.jpg

Auntie Em’s Garden-Fresh Broccoli

1 large or several small broccoli florets, chopped

1 TBS water

1 TBS butter, salt and pepper to taste

Combine in microwave-safe bowl. Cover and cook on high 1 or 2 minutes.

20 responses to “Auntie Em’s Garden-Fresh Broccoli

  1. Becca says:

    Springtime?! I’m jealous! Spring is so far away yet where I am…
    Btw, I heard microwaving broccoli takes out some of the nutrients. Did you hear anything like that?
    Thanks for sharing at A Humble Bumble! :)

    • Auntie Em says:

      I haven’t, but surely that short 1- or 2- minute can’t do much? I used to steam it, but I like the fact that I can put the bowl in the dishwasher buti have to wash the pot, lid, and steamer by hand… Lazy!!
      Thanks Becca!

  2. Bobbie says:

    My camillas are quite impressive this year, but my tulip tree hasnt done a thing (I call it a Japanese Magnolia), but I thought I saw a small bud so I still have hope…. Its pretty impressive you have brocolli!!

  3. Melinda, I am feeling a little jealous of you at the moment ;) I LOVE, LOVE fresh steamed broccoli! and I have never but twice had a really good crop. I think our soil is getting quite a bit better with all the mulching we’ve done, so I may try it again this spring. Wonderful, mouth-watering post to keep us motivated! Blessings :)

  4. You are a welcome read today as I look at the forecast for a boatload of snow coming our way. Sigh…
    I LOVE broccoli-it is one of my favorite vegetables, and is one of my favorite breakfast foods. Yes, breakfast. :-)

  5. [...] ¹http://auntieemsguide.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/auntie-ems-garden-fresh-broccoli/ [...]

  6. This past year was the best year I ever had for broccoli. We battled those green Cabbage White Butterfly caterpillars all season long though.

    • Auntie Em says:

      Thanks for visiting and commenting, Stephanie! I haven’t seen those pests so far (knock wood). I visited your blog and left a message about Compassion. Thanks so much!

  7. Humph!! We have snow on the ground and it is 12* outside!! No gardens around here until late May…what a blessing…well, I don’t know if super high temps are a blessing as much as I like heat. I really, really enjoyed seeing the pictures of your flowers. It is neat to see that in other places flowers are blooming!! Have a wonderful day and thanks for linking up over at WholeHearted Home this week.

  8. Mrs. Tucker says:

    I’m in South Texas too, enjoying our early spring!

  9. Kerry says:

    I too am jealous that you have stuff growing in your garden! Right now my garden is under a couple of inches of snow and I am awaiting the next storm which is suppose to bring us an additional 6-10 inches. My garden activities will have to wait a long, long time. Sigh!

    Thank you so much for linking up to our Healthy Tuesdays Blog Hop, I hope you join us again soon with more photos of spring and your garden so I can dream.

    Kerry from Country Living On A Hill

    • Auntie Em says:

      I have a classmate in CT and a cousin in NY, and now blogging friends “up north” (which we Texans tend to consider everything north of our state line). So I’m much more sympathetic to you poor COLD people! Come on down to Texas and warm up! (Though you might want to go back for July and August.)
      Thanks so much!

  10. We grew broccoli a few years back (although not this year). I never got to taste any of it. My then three year old son ate the whole thing while it was still growing on the plant.

    I’m in Houston and was amazed to see Azalea blooms yesterday. I haven’t spotted any daffodils, but I”m certain they’ll be popping out shortly. I think I spotted a redbud tree in bloom too.

    I’m not averse to cooking my in the microwave (some nutrition is better than none) but I have learned to make use of my steamer basket. If I’m cooking rice or pasta, I can just pop the basket on top of that pan and cook both at once.

    • Auntie Em says:

      I love living in the South this time of year! I visited your blog this morning and you held me hostage for much longer than I planned to spend reading lol! You do a great job.

  11. [...] had a very mild winter here in Southeast Texas, and Spring is creeping in. Lots of early blooms are out– and the weeds are beginning to wake up too. Our neighborhood is called [...]

Leave a Reply

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

