Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Yummy Beef Stew

on March 11, 2013

beef stew

I love soups and stews! They are prime candidates for the crock pot (easy to make), doubling up and freezing or sharing with friends, and microwaving by the bowl when you are rushed for time. Last week I made one that was particularly good– Mr X commented several times, and all I can think of that I did differently than normal was the amount of herbs I used… so here goes:

Start with beef stew meat. Get the leanest you can, and chopped in the size you want. 20130305-181724.jpg

I had put it in the freezer and it wasn’t even thawed out all the way– no worries! Preheat your skillet and oil over medium-high heat, and plop the whole thing in.

20130305-181732.jpg

Season heavily– there’s a lot of surface area stuck together. Cover and let it cook about 5 minutes, then turn it over and cover it again. Break apart what you can, but don’t work up a sweat!

20130305-181742.jpg

After it cooks another 5 minutes or so, you will be able to break it apart easily. It’ll look like this.

20130305-181801.jpg

Keep cooking till all the pink is gone. Then I add the onions– probably 1/2 cup of a leek-like onion from my garden– and celery. I like to soften them up a bit before I add the rest.

20130305-181826.jpg

Carrots take longer to cook than potatoes, so I cut them fairly small and add them next. I love the color and flavor they add, so I used about 4.

20130305-181818.jpg

Then the potatoes– they were getting old, so I put them all in– about 10 small ones, cut into quarters.

20130305-181808.jpg

Next came the seasonings and liquid: A teaspoon of minced garlic (no fresh in the cabinet), a quart of chicken broth, petite diced tomatoes with their juice, and a tablespoon of dried basil and oregano (plant some– I’m using leaves I dried last summer and they are so much fresher and more flavorful (not to mention less expensive!) than what you buy.

20130305-181833.jpg

Hmmm. Still not enough “white” so I added a can of corn.

20130305-182243.jpg 20130305-182253.jpg

I cooked it all about 15-20 more minutes and added a couple of tablespoons of fresh chopped Italian parsley (also from the garden) and served it with Granny’s cornbread. YUM!

20130305-181853.jpg

7 responses to “Yummy Beef Stew

  1. Becca says:

    Looks yummy! Thanks for sharing at A Humble Bumble :)

  2. This looks so good! I love stew… and the cornbread makes it a perfect meal! Thanks for reminding me just how long its been since I made this! I need to get busy!
    Blessings to you ~ Mary

  3. Just saw your link over at A Humble Bumble’s Link Party and thought I’d come over and check out your recipe! Looks really yummy :) Followed on FB while I was here too!

  4. […] processed. Make your own salad dressing- cheaper, healthier, and you get exactly what you want. Soups and stews are another great way to eat clean. Add homemade broth and fresh or frozen veggies to meat and […]

Leave a Reply

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

