Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

The Rest of the Story

on March 22, 2013

Several years ago I heard a very good presenter at a teacher inservice– she did an exercise designed to teach empathy for others. I called it “The Rest of the Story” and adapted it for use with my students. You might be able to use this idea– it’s very powerful. I started with this necklace:

The Rest of the StoryI instructed the kids to find everything ugly about it that they could. Now I teach some¬†sweet kiddos and it was difficult, but I pushed them. Some of the comments I heard–

“It’s out of style.”

“It looks cheap.”

“The eyes are creepy.”

“The gold is worn off.”

Grandma Grantham young

Mama as a young woman

So then I told them the rest of the story. My mother had her 2nd major stroke at age 66. (She had had her first at 52, and took an early medical retirement; she and my daddy divorced 5 years later and for those intervening years she lived a wonderful, independent life in an apartment complex with lots of little old ladies for her to take care of.) After the 2nd stroke she was paralyzed on one side and moved into a nursing home in our town, which she viewed as another place with lots of little old ladies for her to take care of! She played dominoes, wrote letters, visited people in their rooms– she was such a sweet, kind person. More than anything, she loved to give gifts, all her life. When she went to the nursing home she had no money saved and was living on her teacher retirement. That all went to cover her costs and she was allowed a very small amount each month for personal items. It was not enough to payroll her love for giving gifts! But at the home, lots of their activities let them win “money,” and then occasionally they would have a “store” where they could buy things. People would donate items to use, or they would have crafts that the residents made. Mama bought this necklace for me and gave it to me. I can’t remember if it was for something special, or just because.

And I love it.

The truth is, I sort of agree with those statements at the top. But it reminds me that my mother was an incredible person. It would have been so easy for her to say, “I can’t get a set of dishes, or a favorite book, or take Melinda shopping, [all things she had done]; all I can get is this old thing,” and be too proud or embarrassed and not do it. But she did it anyway, and was still thrilled to be able to give a gift to her daughter. She was the epitome of “Bloom where you are planted.” My mother bloomed all her life.

I lived within 5 miles of her and saw her several times a week, but she wrote lots of letters too. Neat.

DSCN1470

Mama at Halloween in the nursing home. Isn’t this great?

Grandma in witch hat

And this is one of my favorites. To me it shows the joy that she kept throughout her life, in spite of the many challenges that would have turned a lesser person bitter. Her sweet spirit never left her.

20130322-204839.jpg

By the way- the exercise was a success. As I told the story, I got weepy, and then they got weepy. We then articulated that you can find something ugly about anything and anybody. But you can also find something beautiful. And many times, only the ugly is visible until you know the rest of the story.

13 responses to “The Rest of the Story

  1. Christena says:

    And now I am weepy too. Just beautiful!

  2. Judy says:

    Wonderful! Last year, about this time, my siblings and I were helping our parents downsize. As we sorted through boxes, drawers and closets full of items that looked out of style, worn out, and unattractive, we understood that there was a meaningful story behind many of them. It’s the stories of our lives that are valuable. What a blessing that your mother lived a beautiful story!

  3. Carrie Evans says:

    I’ve had one of those weeks that I’ve thought about my Mom a lot and missed her so much! Then, I read this. It reminded me of how unselfish and giving my Mom was. And, I’m in awe of your sweet Mom, even in what most would consider dire circumstances, keeping her bright, sunny disposition! I’m afraid, faced with even lesser things, I might huddle in a corner, all wrapped up in self pity. Bless you!

  4. Oh what a beautiful story. Well done.

  5. She was exactly like that! You remind me so much of her wth your loving disposition and your caring ways!! She definitely lives on in you!! She was special to me. Always loving, never judging, so full of God’s heart!!

  6. […] how to be kind and giving, and to “bloom where I’m planted”: my mother. My goodness, she was the sweetest person you could meet. She took care of people – that was […]

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 748 other followers

