Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Fun with Crescent Rolls– Lemon Rolls

on April 4, 2013

 

When I published my “Use it Up– Fun with Crescent Rolls” post I got so many comments about how my readers used them, I decided that Crescent Rolls deserved their own mini-series! The first post concentrated on recreating leftovers as Second Generation Meals– and I made blueberry turnovers and chicken pot pie from blueberry pie filling and chicken soup.

Susan from This Happy Mom said her mom used to mix cream cheese, lemon juice, and powdered sugar to spread on before rolling and cooking– so I got inspired!

I started with these ingredients.

   Image

If you don’t have a lemon juicer, you need one! I’ve had this one since I got married. I like it because it has a strainer in the top to catch seeds and pulp, and measurements on the side.

20130404-115552.jpg

Combine 1-8 oz package of cream cheese, 1/4 C lemon juice, and 1/2 C + 2 TBS powdered sugar and blend with a mixer till very smooth. Roll out the rolls then spoon some of the mixture onto them.

NOTE TO SELF: While lemons and cream cheese are easier to work with if you let them come to room temp first, Crescent Rolls are not! I took them all out of the frig for a picture and forgot to put them back. The rolls were stretchy and sticky. Since I was experimenting, I tried several ways. All started with a generous supply of the lemon filling.

20130404-115740.jpg

I added cinnamon– this was my favorite. I wondered about the lemon/cinnamon combination but I really liked it.

20130404-115756.jpg

I made a “calzone,” with a little more filling, and pinched the sides together.

20130404-115748.jpg

Here’s how they turned out.

20130404-115805.jpg

Honestly, Mr X wasn’t crazy about them. But I really liked them, and they didn’t last long when I took them to school. They were a big hit with the high school crowd!

And I tried a couple of second generation uses for the lemon filling, as this will be more than you need for one can of rolls– it makes a wonderful, tart pudding. Refrigerated, it gets to the perfect consistency. OR use it as a fruit dip or a fruit salad dressing. It has just the right creamy/tart/sweet taste to dress it up.

6 responses to “Fun with Crescent Rolls– Lemon Rolls

  1. cynthial1956 says:

    I am always delighted to find another use for crescent rolls! These look delicious. I bet the lemon filling was great! I would probably just eat it with a spoon!

    I found your page from the Tuesday’s Table party. I would love it if you would pop by and link this recipe and any others to the In and Out of the Kitchen link party!

    Cynthia at http://FeedingBig.com

  2. Hi, joining from the Healthy Tues hop, boy their is no end to crescent rolls!

  3. Pamela says:

    These are making me drool! I love all things lemon and my hubby does, too. These are sure to be a hit in my home.

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

