Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Always Faithful

on July 2, 2013

“Semper Fi”– the motto of the US Marine Corps– is short for Semper Fideles, which is Latin for “always faithful.” When I googled “faithful” 3 kinds of images popped up– Marines, dogs, and the Old Faithful geyser in Yellowstone National Park.

But fidelity is one of the hallmarks of God, and one of the most-mentioned qualities about God in the Bible. (Google “how many times is faithful mentioned in the Bible” and you’ll see ranges from 227 to 528, depending on word form and translation.

Nowhere, I think, is faithfulness more expected and necessary than in a Christian marriage. And if we are Christians, we have the Holy Spirit living in us, providing faithfulness as one of His gifts. Pop on over to A Biblical Marriage and read more about having a Fruitful Marriage!

 

A Fruitful marriage- faithfulness

6 responses to “Always Faithful

  1. Helene says:

    “Fidelty is one of the hallmarks of God.” Amen!

  2. Debbie says:

    I’m heading over to continue reading. But yes, faithfulness is so necessary. I’m so thankful that our Lord is faithful.

    Blessings and love,
    Debbie
    http://www.heartchoices.com/2013/07/learning-to-trust.html

  3. Anne says:

    God is so steady in our lives and we need to always be faithful to Him as well as to our marriages. I realize not everyone is married but I am and I am thrilled when I see solid marriages around me. I appreciate your words today. Have a beautiful SONday and good week!

  4. Before I head on out to where you are guest posting, I just wanted to say thanks, Auntie Em!! It is nice to have such a young aunt ;-) as all of my aunts are in their late 80s or would be older if they were still living. I like the word faithful. This sounds like it is going to be a great post!! Thanks for sharing it over at WholeHearted Home last week. Hope to see you later tonight or in the morning.

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

