Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Need a Buffer Zone?

on July 3, 2013

buffer zone- Jesus Calling

For we fix our attention not on things that are seem, but things that are unseen. What can be seen lasts only for a time, but what is not seen lasts forever.
1 Corinthians 4:18

They [the seraphim] were calling out to each other:
“Holy, holy, holy!
The Lord Almighty is holy!
His glory fills the world.”
Isaiah 6:3

I wait eagerly for the Lord’s help, and in his Word I trust.
Psalm 130:5

This is from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young. It’s been packed in my still-unloaded book bag from when I went with Sunshine and had my blogging retreat 2 weeks ago so I’m behind! This selection shouted out at me, though, with talk of a buffer zone. I call it brain space, or margin. For me it looks like a little down time between activities, time for me to think about any follow-up I need to do, tie up any loose ends (like unpacking the book bag and putting things away!), or what I need to do to prepare for the next thing. I’m not very good at it, possibly because I try to cram too much in. I’m still working to learn that lesson that time is a finite commodity!

How about you? Do you need a buffer zone? Together, let’s ask God to create one around us– to grant wisdom in figuring out what to do and what NOT to do, then to have the will to be obedient!

If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. James 1:5

11 responses to “Need a Buffer Zone?

  1. Rejoycin says:

    I am so glad I stopped to read this when scrolling through my emails. I want to post it on FB!

  2. Lizzy says:

    Amen! needed to hear this today. Thank you!

  3. hollysbarrett says:

    Yes, I need a buffer zone! That’s hard for an extrovert but is still so true. I’m currently between jobs and living with my daughter’s family so I’m really feeling the need for that buffer now. But God is faithful to provide a few breaks here and there and I’m so grateful for that!

  4. Colletta says:

    I agree completely and need this in my life also.

    Your neighbor at Spiritual Sunday,
    Colletta

  5. Anne says:

    Good words for the soul today! I especially love the Book of James as my father read it often and as I grew older I realized all his wisdom was coming form the Lord’s Book! I hope your SONday is beautiful and you have a wonderful week!

  6. Oh – this is good one. Yes…definitely needed that today!

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

