Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

7-Day Real Food Challenge

on July 20, 2013

Events have been conspiring to make me more and more aware of my health, including my diet, weight, and exercise. I need to lose at least 20 lbs and have been “trying” to lose 5 for about 5 years.

I saw a good friend for the first time in several months and she had lost a significant amount of weight– she looked great! Of course I asked what she had changed, and she said she was eating a combination of paleo and real food. Was she exercising? Not really. She said as she eliminated bad food and allergens from her diet, she felt better and just naturally moved more, but she had not been doing a cardio routine or anything like that. She recommended a book called Practical Paleo.

Then my son began losing weight. He’s always been big– he weighed 9 lbs when he was born; always wore 2-3 sizes larger than his age; was a head taller than most kids in his class. But his weight had gotten way too high and he was having high blood pressure issues at a very young age. (He’s 27.) High blood pressure runs in Mr X’s side of the family, but not beginning that early.

So he just decided it was time to do something about it. I’m a terrible mother and really didn’t notice until he had lost between 30-40 lbs. (In my defense, he lives a couple of hours away and we see him only every month or 2, and he would always wear baggy clothes, so it was hard to tell.)

What was his secret? Cardio and “if man made it, don’t eat it.”

And in May I’d gone for an annual checkup and my cholesterol was a bit high. The doctor said it needed to come down, so try diet and exercise, have it tested again in the summer, and if it didn’t lower I would need to take medicine. I’m determined NOT to do that!

So the past month I’ve been working toward a real food/paleo/no allergen diet, and “moving” (I like that term better than “exercising”) more than I have been before. Then, in that funny way God has of working things together for our good, I found Mary’s Kitchen’s 7 Day Real Food Challenge. I don’t even remember how I found her! But I thought participating would be good incentive for me to stick with it and also help me do it better. It officially kicks off tomorrow. I’ll be doing posts this week about what I’ve learned.

Wanna join me?

Mary's Kitchen

Here are links to some good info on Mary’s blog:

Eating Real Food is Easy

Details and Recipes: 7-Day Real Food Challenge

What About Liquids? Our 7-Day Real Food Challenge

14 responses to “7-Day Real Food Challenge

  1. I’ve been thinking and writing about real food recently too. Thanks for the tip – I’m going to check out Mary’s site.

    • Auntie Em says:

      Come on! Let’s do it together.

      • I would love to, but I’m taking your advice that I read a long time ago and trying to know and respect my limits. My mother is in the hospital, hubby has been sick all week, and I just went from part-time to full-time at work. So I have probably reached (maybe exceeded!) what I can do for the next few weeks. But I would love to do this challenge and invite my blog readers to do it too sometime in the future.

  2. I’ve been real fooding for a month now. I hate all the extra dishes, but I love how much more energy I have. I’ve even dropped 8 pounds! woo hoo.

  3. Looking forward to having all of you join the challenge! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Judy says:

    “If man made it, don’t eat it.” That says it well. My philosophy for the last several years has been similar: more green food; less white food.

  5. Carrie says:

    I gotta say, I eat pretty healthy. Lots and lots of vegetables every day. I could almost be a vegetarian.

    Almost.

    I used to walk 3-4 times a week and lost 20 lbs in no time. Then I got married and about 10 lbs has found me again. But that’s ok because about 15-20 lbs has found HIM. =)

    I’m about ready to get back to walking.

    I have no doubt you’ll do fabulous…looking forward to seeing your progress!!

  6. Patty B says:

    I really should eat better, but it is easier to fix “quick” meals. The only time I would have to make extra meals would be the weekend and right now that just ain’t going to happen. Too much to do so little time…but still I will check out your links maybe I can find a solution to change my eating habits. Good luck!

    • Auntie Em says:

      I understand! I think the beauty of this is you can make the changes wherever you can– one or two changes– and that’s a bit better than it was. Every little helps lol!

      • Patty B says:

        That is what I found out that is important making changes wherever we can and remembering that we are all different and what may work for someone may not work for me. But I am off to a good start.

  7. […] the 7-Day Real Food Challenge with Mary’s Kitchen. (If you’d like to catch up, start here.) To tell the truth, I had overhauled my eating already, beginning around mid-June, and some posts […]

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Photo Editing Tutorials, Tips & News

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 747 other followers

