Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Best Books You’ve Never Heard Of… English Country Quaint

on July 29, 2013

The Modern Mrs. Darcy has challenged us to share a book we love that perhaps everybody’s missing, because they’ve never heard of it! I can give you a whole opus I bet you’ve never heard of!

Miss Read, pseudonym for Dora Jessie Saint, was an English schoolmistress and novelist. She lived almost 100 years and passed away last year.

She was most well known for her 2 series set in tiny English villages, Fairacre (20 books) and Thrush Green (13 books). She also wrote an autobiography, children’s books, a cookbook, and some others not in her 2 main series.

“Saint’s novels are wry regional social comedies, laced with gentle humour and subtle social commentary. Saint was also a keen observer of nature and the changing seasons.” (Wikipedia)

Her books remind me of the novels of Jane Austen and Jan Karon. They are easy reading, sweet, books that explore characters and relationships. No tawdry sex scenes, car chases, or foul language here! Plus, if you get the right edition, they feature sweet illustrations by John Goodall.

And if you’re like me, once you find a book you like, you want to read a lot by the same author… These will last you a while!

Click here for a full bio and bibliography.

 

The Best Book You've Never Heard Of | Modern Mrs Darcy


12 responses to “Best Books You’ve Never Heard Of… English Country Quaint

  1. Maureen says:

    I’m pinning this as a reminder to hunt these books down. Thanks for making me aware of them!

  2. I’m the same way…the book will sell me on the author instead of the other way around. There are several books I’ve just grabbed because that particular one looked good, then I ended up getting 2-3 more by the same author.

    Nothing like a good, clean book.

    • Auntie Em says:

      I’m always so happy to find a book I like by an author that has a shelf full of books! Then I don’t have to wrack my brain trying to decide on something good!

  3. Jeannie says:

    These do sound good — I might recommend them to my mom, too, who’s always raving about the Mitford books. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Oh, they remind you of Jane Austen? I’m interested. :)

  5. I just looked them up on amazon.com and they have some of them in kindle ebook form, too! I had try them out! Thanks for the great tip!!

Leave a Reply

Christie In A Year - Extended

Reading All Agatha Christie's Work Until 12th January 2014, initially

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 748 other followers

