Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Auntie Em’s Broccoli Salad

on January 4, 2013

Auntie Em's broccoli saladBroccoli is one of those super vegetables– you know the type– high in Vitamin C and fiber, a boost for your immune system to help fight off bacteria and viruses, and it supposedly helps fight cancer and heart disease. So I try to serve it as often as possible. I grew some for the first time last year and was surprised at how easy and high-producing it was. So this year I planted about 12 plants in late fall, and I’m getting a bumper crop!

Normally I steam it, but lately I’ve been microwaving it– a crown or two, chopped in bite-sized pieces, with about a tablespoon of water and a tablespoon of butter in a covered dish. (In my opinion, the bit of fat that the butter adds is worth the cost because of the wonderful flavor it gives the broccoli!)

But over the holidays, I made a broccoli salad for our get-togethers. It’s  very colorful, and when I serve it in my red Fiesta bowl it just looks like Christmas! But it’s really good for any time, even at home when it’s just your family.

Make as much as you want– depending on the number of servings and whether or not you like leftovers. This is enough to serve 6-8, especially if you have lots of other food like we do at our house at Christmas!

  • 2-3 crowns of broccoli. Rinse and chop in bite-sized pieces. The good thing about using your own fresh for the garden is that you can pick it when it’s still really tender and use the stems too.
  • Peel and chop 2-3 carrots. I like the carrots chopped pretty finely. You can also grate them coarsely.
  • Cook 2-3 slices of bacon and chop.
  • Add 1/4- 1/2 cup of finely chopped green or purple onion. (Remember your goal is to be colorful.)
  • Add 2-3 TBS of craisins.

mix it all together, then make your dressing:

  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2-4 TBS agave nectar or other sweetener- You can use whatever you like– honey, sugar, Splenda… As much or little as you like.
  • 1-2 TBS rice or rice wine vinegar.
  • 1 TBS Dijon mustard (optional– I didn’t use it this time, but lots of times I do.)
  • a sprinkle (1/8 tsp maybe?) of salt

I’m not normally much of a taster while I cook, but I do taste this and adjust it as I go. I like mine pretty sweet, and I like more dressing than is probably healthy! So you’ll have to adjust it to your taste, then add to it and mix it up, and add more until you get the right amount. If you have some left over, just save it for salad dressing– add a little olive oil till it’s the right texture.

This is the last of Auntie Em’s Holiday Cooking 2012– I hope you have enjoyed sharing the holidays with us!

Auntie Em's holiday cooking Collage

8 responses to “Auntie Em’s Broccoli Salad

  1. Thank you so much for this recipe! I have wished to have it for years.

  2. Sounds good, this is one of our favorites. Will have to try it for our first cookout, yes I am already counting the days till we can sit on the deck and complain about the heat! :)

  3. [...] Auntie Em’s Broccoli Salad (auntieemsguide.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. Kelly says:

    Everything I love in a salad! And I’m not in the mood for a lettuce salad on these cold days. I’ll let you know what my family thinks of it. Thanks for linking with us at NOBH. Every blessing, Kelly.

  5. [...] before that. So this year, I got a dozen plants and we have had an abundance! I used it to make my broccoli salad at Thanksgiving and Christmas, but for you veggie purists, this week I made it plain. May I just say [...]

Leave a Reply

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

wisdom and madness from yer pals at PicMonkey.com

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

Grannys Pantry & Grandads Garden

Age Old Wisdom about how to grow and preserve and cook your own food and use natural medicines

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Royal Post

A playful look at the royals we love

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 712 other followers

