Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is– HOPE

on March 20, 2017

he who promises is faithful

This morning I was thinking and praying about some long-term situations that aren’t what I’d like them to be, that I’ve been praying for a long time about, and I was reminded of things I’ve heard about powerful prayers. I’ve always felt that I’m not a good pray-er. But when I read these Scriptures in articles that I “happened” to find on Facebook, I felt like God had given them directly to me.

Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for He who promises is faithful. Heb. 10:23

If we profess to be Believers, and we spend lots of time, energy, and money in His Kingdom, then why do we pray like wimps? HE is the one on whom those answered prayers depend, and He promises. And He is faithful.

Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Rom 15: 13

He is the God of HOPE. And while we are waiting for Him to accomplish His work, we can be joyful, peaceful, and hopeful. The Holy Spirit is the One who will do this work in us while God is working out the situations.

I will return her [Israel’s] vineyards to her and transform the Valley of Trouble into a gateway of hope. Hos 2:15

The vineyards represent fruitfulness, richness and abundance of life. God’s provision. And not only will He provide our needs, He will take the Valley of Trouble — been there lately?– and not only get you out of there to some safe place, it will be a gateway of HOPE! I’ve been through some valleys of trouble, and have seen how He did just that. If I hadn’t gone through the Valley, the place I got to would never have been so sweet.

Have faith in God. I tell you the truth, you can say to this mountain, “May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,” and it will happen. But you must really believe it will happen and have no doubt in your heart. I tell you, you can pray for anything, and if you believe that you’ve received it, it will be yours. But first, forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against. Mark 11:22-25

Books have been written on this passage, but here’s what jumped out at me this morning: 1) The changing of tense from …believe it will happen… to …believe that you’ve received it… I’m channeling CS Lewis when I say that God isn’t bound by time, any more than He’s bound by space or gravity. Believing and receiving are present and future to us, but to Him, they are all the same. Perhaps having the mind of Christ (1 Cor 2:16) will apply here, and we can believe both that it will happen and that God has already said YES at the same time.

2) I have to do my part, which is forgive anyone that I’m holding a grudge against. (I think there are other things too, that are my part–that whole discipleship thing which includes Bible study, prayer, and a godly love walk– we can’t pick and choose some Scripture and ignore the others.) But after I do my very best to do my part, the rest is up to God. We just have to pray in faith, using His own word to “remind Him” of what He promised (like He could forget!) but mostly to remind US.

Thank you Father for answering prayer, for Your Word that contains Your promises and inspires Hope. I thank You for using what You spoke to me to encourage everyone who reads this.

 

 

4 responses to “Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is– HOPE

  1. Thanks for sharing this today!

  2. Nedra says:

    Thank you, Auntie Em, for these timely words of wisdom!

Leave a Reply

Candid Diversions

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living... And whatever else grabs my attention!

Christie In A Year - Extended

All About Agatha Christie's Work and Her Legacies

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the History of European Royalty

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

PicMonkey Blog

Tutorials, Tips and News from Your Favorite Photo Editor

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

