Auntie Em's Guide to Life

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living… And whatever else grabs my attention!

Whatever…

on September 19, 2012

 Whatever is true, noble, right, whatever is pure, lovely, admirable— if anything is excellent or praiseworthy– think on these things.

Philippians 4:8

In my post Be Anxious for Nothing, I talked about avoiding influences that contributed to anxiety and depression. The “4:8 Filter,” which I’ve heard this verse called, will help you discern what to allow in your life, not only for mental health, but spiritual health.

I’ve been as guilty as anyone else about complaining about all the bad language and filth in movies and TV, but then going on and watching. It has been only since we have just about quit watching any TV and only movies we choose on Netflix that I see now what I was letting in. I watched just a few minutes of a sitcom with someone a couple of weeks ago and in that short time, there were several sexual innuendos and situations where the dad looked like a buffoon. We become acclimated to anything we are exposed to constantly. If we see dads as useless or foolish, it won’t be long until we think our husband/dad is too. If adultery and illegitimacy are the norm everywhere else you look, it will be the norm in your community and your home. (I’ve seen this attitude really change in the students I teach. Thank you, Teen Mom.) If you constantly hear profanity, you will certainly quit cringing, and very possibly will start speaking it yourself.

In our sermon last Sunday, the pastor mentioned the Durkheim constant– a principle that says a community can tolerate only a certain level of deviancy, and so if behavior worsens, standards lower. Case in point: when Rhett Butler told Scarlett his famous line, many were outraged. When more words were added, his little line seemed very tame! If you’ve lived very long, you can see a change in media (I remember when feminine products were first advertised on TV… ugh!), fashion, language, music, etc.

I could go on and on about the wickedness in which we live. But wickedness is nothing new, and it doesn’t surprise God. I think that’s why He told us to be in the world, but not of the world. In 2 Chronicles 7:14, remember, He also gives His people– not the “wicked sinners”– responsibility for turning the tide of the country.

I would humbly suggest that you filter everything you let in your life– what you eat, drink, see, hear, watch, think– through the 4:8 filter. If something violates your beliefs, throw it out! Don’t let it in your life. To be blessed by God, we have to walk with God, to know His word, to be obedient, and we can’t be adulterated by things that He hates. I’m tired of playing. I hope you are too.

This is the third in our Life Lessons from Philippians 4 series. Read Be Anxious for Nothing and Work in Harmony if you missed them. Also be sure to visit TeeKay at A Thimble’s Worth of Wisdom and simplyjuliana to get their views on the same Scriptures.

I really appreciate your visiting, reading, liking, and commenting!


10 responses to “Whatever…

  1. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman says:

    So true…growing up watching tv and having “noise” in the background was a way of life, until a few years ago. Now we are more likely to have the tv off or only on when there is something interesting to watch, and our lives too have changed for the better. I never realized how I got so accustomed to all the profanity, violence and sexual content until now it bothers me when I see or hear it. It is so true what goes in eventually goes out….trash in our ears and trash out of our mouths…

  2. It is SO very true. I’ll be the first to admit that I watch things I shouldn’t but I don’t let it affect my every day living. Yes, some things have before so I nixed them right out. A coworker with foul language years ago was the worst. I had something slip out of my mouth unexpectedly (something I didn’t ever say) and shocked myself. The daily absorption is the worst!!!

  3. Judith says:

    This post was excellent!!! It says something like this in Psalms: I will set no wicked thing before my eyes. It is so important to keep ourselves pure from the evils of what we see in TV and movies. We get desensitized and used to whatever we see and hear, like a frog in water where the heat is turned up to boil.

    Thanks for linking up at WholeHearted Home today, I really, really appreciate you sharing your posts today.

  4. kimahall says:

    I am reminded of an old acronym from the computer field: GIGO, or Garbage In, Garbage Out. Our perspective can be so skewed when we are in the thick of something, and only by stepping away do we have a sharper perspective as you note.
    I think this is true for other areas as well. I just did a 30 day strict eating plan that eliminated all grains and gluten, sugars and sweeteners, dairy, legumes, and pretty much all processed food. As I added different foods back in for a day long test, I was shocked at how some of them no longer tasted good to me.
    Have you read The 4:8 Principle by Tommy Newberry? I think you’d like it.

  5. Too true. I used to have very high standards for what we watched, but I got weary of it as my husband did not enjoy any of the movies I did (he doesn’t want to watch dirty movies, but he does not have as strict of standards). But, I probably need implement them again.

  6. […] those things, even if you don’t feel like it. Brother Chuck reminded us of Philippians 4:8 (Whatever…) but reminded us that 4:9 says DO THOSE […]

Leave a comment

Candid Diversions

A guide to all the important things in life- marriage, family, cooking, gardening, reading, travel, Christian living... And whatever else grabs my attention!

Christie In A Year - Extended

All About Agatha Christie's Work and Her Legacies

Gourmet Quilter Blog

.....because quilting is delicious!

European Royal History

Exploring the Monarchs of Europe

healthnutmumblog

my searches for health

Bag of Cupcakes

celebrate. reward. encourage.

the domestic fringe

making life extraordinary